Up-Pipe Replacement on 6.4 - Pics included - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2014, 08:21 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Up-Pipe Replacement on 6.4 - Pics included

I have been putting this off for almost 2 years, but finally bit the bullet and got this job done. If you read some of my past posts you will see that I have mentioned that I ultimately needed to get this job done. But I will provide a little history because I haven't posted here in a while:

Autumn of 2012 - I started noticing a loud screaming in the engine upon acceleration. When ever the truck would go into regen mode a black billowing of smoke would emit from under the hood, primarily on the passenger side coming up from the wheel well. I determined that my passenger side up pipe had a leak (most likely at the flex bellow where they all crack).

Feb- March of 2013 - Not wanting to spend the money to get pipe replaced (it's a big number as cab needs to come off or drop trans to do the job) I decided I would first spend a little money to delete the DPF on my own. At least this way I could do away with the black smoke during regens. I straight piped from the down pipe back to the muffler, thereby doing away with the Cat and the DPF. The delete tune I installed was the GearBox Z DPF-R + with Economy Tune.

Summer 2013 - Decided to do a full EGR cooler delete as well. I went with the Flo-Pro delete kit with the intake elbow doing away with both coolers as well as the restrictive EGR valve assembly. Now she could breathe!

Truck continued to run well except for the still cracked up pipe, which was probably getting worse. That pipe is right behind the firewall, so the fumes would just come into the cab of the truck, stinking it up, not to mention dangerous to inhale. I would constantly have to use the recirculate button or drive with windows down.