Need new Radiator but no Code showing for Warranty - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 09-16-2010, 06:28 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
SoonerDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ardmore, Oklahoma
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Need new Radiator but no Code showing for Warranty

Hey fellas,

Here is my prob. My Radiator is leaking like crazy @ 73,000 miles and I called the Dealership to have it replaced under warranty. Previous to me knowing that I had a leak, I had my check engine lite come on so I retrieved the codes and cleared them with my tuner. The code that I cleared was for the Thermostat but I don't remember the #.

That's where the prob starts. The dealership said that the radiator recall falls under the 3 yr/36k warranty and that for me to have my radiator replaced now it would have to show codes for faulty thermostat.

I would think a recall wouldn't have to be done within any certain time frame but I'm no expert and the code for the thermostat hasn't ever reappeared.

Is there a little trick I can do to force it to trip that code again???

Thanks in advance
SoonerDS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 09-18-2010, 06:56 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
SoonerDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ardmore, Oklahoma
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
no help here???
SoonerDS is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 09-18-2010, 07:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dieselkane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pocat-hell-hole, Idaho
Posts: 1,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Codes for a thermostat?? I didn't think codes popped up for a bad thermostat. The TSB outlines a specific test in order to check for faulty thermostats. It requires driving the truck, and monitoring EOT and ECT.

Traded.. 03 6.0 PSD
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
For.. Black F250 2008 SD LARIAT 6.4 PSD 4x4, Aries Bull Bar, Westin chrome running bars, Dura Liner, B&W Gooseneck hitch, Recon smoked taillights, Icon 4.5" lift, 35" Toyo M/T, etc... Running Spartan Tunes
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
AFE PG 7, Flo Pro 4" DP Back, thanks to Cobb's Diesel. It has been great so far.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Quote:
Originally Posted by azkcr View Post
So all that work and you're keeping the trash can of doom on the exhaust?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
dieselkane is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 09-18-2010, 07:23 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
SoonerDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ardmore, Oklahoma
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thanks for the response, I've seen the TSB, but I've also seen the code with my own eyes so I know the dealership wasn't bs'n me. Just wish I hadn't cleared it lol. I'm guessing there is a sensor in the thermostat housing but not really sure.
SoonerDS is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 09-18-2010, 07:32 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 
forddieseldoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Saint Cloud, WI
Posts: 4,464
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes there is codes for bad thermostats. It is P0128 - Coolant Thermostat (Coolant Temperature Below Thermostat Regulating Temperature)
Description: Indicates that the thermostat monitor has not achieved the required engine operating
temperature within a specified amount of time after starting the engine.
Possible Causes: Insufficient warm up time
Low engine coolant level
Leaking or stuck-open thermostat
Inoperative engine coolant temperature (ECT) sensor

Ford Senior Master Diesel Tech

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

IF YOU DON'T WANNA STAND BEHIND OUR TROOPS
THEN FEEL FREE TO STAND IN FRONT OF THEM


Meet Double Aught
2000 F250

forddieseldoctor is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 09-18-2010, 08:01 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
SoonerDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ardmore, Oklahoma
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by forddieseldoctor View Post
Yes there is codes for bad thermostats. It is P0128

That would be the one....do you know how I could force that code again without damaging my engine
SoonerDS is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 09-18-2010, 10:07 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
dieselkane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pocat-hell-hole, Idaho
Posts: 1,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by forddieseldoctor View Post
Yes there is codes for bad thermostats. It is P0128 - Coolant Thermostat (Coolant Temperature Below Thermostat Regulating Temperature)
Description: Indicates that the thermostat monitor has not achieved the required engine operating
temperature within a specified amount of time after starting the engine.
Possible Causes: Insufficient warm up time
Low engine coolant level
Leaking or stuck-open thermostat
Inoperative engine coolant temperature (ECT) sensor
Oh ok. So does this code typically appear on 6.4 engines when the thermostats have failed? Or does the code not always show up like it should when there is a problem?
dieselkane is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 09-18-2010, 11:48 PM
shhhhh, can you hear it?

 
08pwrstrokr6.4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: wichita,ks
Posts: 2,236
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
looks like you could drop the coolant level and make it arise but how much coolant i dont know and it would be beneficial to know how long it has to be on for the light to trigger.

Patrick
TAPS Historian


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
08 6.4L ECSB
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
S&B intake,H&S Black Maxx,5" Pipe,Trac. Bars
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

13.77@100.63


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
OIF 07-08 16 months OIF 10/OND 10-11
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diesel Tech Mag
All you need is a little knowledge,the right tools, and a buddy's truck to practice on.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
08pwrstrokr6.4 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 09-19-2010, 12:01 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
SoonerDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ardmore, Oklahoma
Posts: 41
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i thought that would work too, but with the radiator leaking as bad as it is, that has been tested already. I've driven close to an hour with the temp running between 210 - 230 deg on more than one occasion simply because I'm friggin tired of pulling over to refill it.

I wonder if I unplug the ECT sensor if it will trip the code
SoonerDS is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 09-19-2010, 08:50 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 
forddieseldoctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Saint Cloud, WI
Posts: 4,464
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The only time the code shows up is if the ect sensor temp does not rise a certain number of degrees in a certain amount of times. Such as a stuck open thermostat. If you unplug the ect sensor it will simply throw a code for ect sensor circuit fault. I don't have a good way to tell you to get the code to reappear without risking damaging the motor.

Ford Senior Master Diesel Tech

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

IF YOU DON'T WANNA STAND BEHIND OUR TROOPS
THEN FEEL FREE TO STAND IN FRONT OF THEM


Meet Double Aught
2000 F250

forddieseldoctor is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome