Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

2009 f250 p0087 code??

6K views 7 replies 2 participants last post by  duccamachine 
#1 ·
Recently my truck threw the utterly vague P0087 code. This was accompanied by no cruise control. I cleared the code and everything was fine for about a week then the CEL came on. Checked and the same P0087 code. Cleared it and another week later same thing.... When the CEL came on there was no noticeable drivability issues and the truck ran fine. I've read a ton on the P0087 code and just seems to confuse me more. I recently found both my batteries were heading south so I replaced them and changed the fuel filter just in case. Not sure what next step should be if the problem resurfaces?...
I have been running an XRT pro on mild for the past 5 yrs and this is the first problem I've had. Any suggestions of help is appreciated. Also is doing the egr delete worth the time?

#2 · (Edited)
check fuel pressure at the schrader valve off the fuel cooler. drive the truck. hard. if it stays between 3-8psi, honestly, you probably have a bad hpfp. it would be best at that point to monitor frp actual and desired, and see if actual is able to maintain desired under load.
you can pull the secondary fuel filter and have a close look in there with a flashlight, looking for sparkly metal bits. if you find a fair amount in there, nt only is the pump done, but the system is contaminated and will need to be dealt with accordingly.

yes, absolutely the delete is worth it on these trucks. if the horizontal cooler ends up leaking it could potentially let coolant into the cylinder through an open exhaust valve, causing a hydrolock.
either a full delete, or you can install a blocker plate

#3 ·