PROBLEM WITH SPARTAN - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 07-26-2009, 06:41 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 214
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
PROBLEM WITH SPARTAN

ok so i have the 210 in my truck cat/dpf delete pg7 intake ..and all has been great i was out in ohio and the day before returning to nj i decided to reloa my tune like I frequently do... Now the next day i started her up and everything was fine and i ran it for about 3 hours then it went from full "210" power to less than stock it was limiting me out at like 65-70... so i cycled the key and started her up and it ran fine for about 2-3 miles then it just ran slow again.. so then i said oh well ill load stock.. with it stock she ran good for a littel then it retarded itself AGAIN then cycled the key multiple times along the way to nj then one time after cycling the key it was fine running stock then just as i was pulling into my girlfrineds house it started to regen and blow white smoke so i cycled the key and poof it was fine .... so i loaded the tune and had the same problems run great for a few miles then limits it ...... and it i run it when i limits it it wll pick back up and have full power every once and a while now the codes are d specific ford P040D exhaust gas recirculation temp sensor A circuit high...... and P1000 obd systems readiness......... now when i clear the codes and cycle the key itll run fine for a few minutes then the codes come up and it is in a limp mode kindof ........ ANY HELP im guess some sensor is bad???.....
f250 fx4 kid is offline  
post #2 of 14 Old 07-26-2009, 08:20 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 214
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
after looking at it today the only thing that i can think of is the sensor that screws into the dpf section of the delete pipe is broken cause it screws in but the grommet that slides over the top of it and connects it tot he little black box is broken so the sensor and the box are two seperate pieces, but it has been like this since i did the chip and all about 4,500 miles ago....
f250 fx4 kid is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 07-26-2009, 09:41 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 214
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok so from looking on the spartan forum and other forums i have found that it seems that the egr temp sensor goes bad when this happens so i just ordered a new sensor.... now how do i change the sensors and where is the sensor?
f250 fx4 kid is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 08-05-2009, 05:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 206
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
did you ever find anything out on this?

2008 Dark Stone F250 CC,4x4 Lariat, Job3, 3.73 gear
Banks CAI
ATS Painted Flares
Eaton Front E-Locker
sawtooth1 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 08-06-2009, 04:44 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 40
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Part Number

Does anybody have the Part Number for the sensor associated with this DTC?
Please post if you do.
kwayne is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 08-21-2009, 02:47 AM
Warheads on Foreheads
 
superdutydixie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Houghton, LA
Posts: 1,812
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So was this the tuners fault or just a sensor going bad?

09 F-250 Superduty CCSB
SOLD
superdutydixie is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 08-21-2009, 04:04 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by f250 fx4 kid View Post
ok so from looking on the spartan forum and other forums i have found that it seems that the egr temp sensor goes bad when this happens so i just ordered a new sensor.... now how do i change the sensors and where is the sensor?
You should have had to unscrew this sensor to install your DPF delete.
po-po 5.0 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 08-21-2009, 09:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Dusten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lake Goodwin, Wa
Posts: 1,890
Thanks: 14
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
why would you constantly reload your tune? these trucks had adaptive strategies i thought, and learned over time? aren't you basically forcing it to keep learning

2008 Ford F-250 - 6"-37s-H&S-deleted
2001 Ford Lightning - Built motor - Built trans - 2.3 KB - Custom Interior - Garage Queen
1993 Ford Lightning - stockish
1994 Ford Cobra - stockish
1968 Mustang - Gold Nugget Special - restored
2015 Chevy Tahoe LTZ
2015 Hyundai Sonota Sport
Dusten is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 11-15-2009, 08:59 AM
Powerstroke Techie

 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,682
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
P040D sets when teh sensor in the RH up pipe from the manifold to the turbo isn't working properly.

I've changed a couple now. You need to pull the RH inner fender out to do it.

Also - this sensor would remain untouched installing a DPF delete.
Big Angry Hillbilly is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 11-15-2009, 09:42 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
utahnguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dusten View Post
why would you constantly reload your tune? these trucks had adaptive strategies i thought, and learned over time? aren't you basically forcing it to keep learning
I'm assuming you're referring to the beginning of his post where he said he was going to re-load his tune before heading out. That's a smart way to increase your trucks longevity IMHO. Spartan's 210 and + tunes are designed and marketed for RACE and TRACK use, where performance takes precedence over engine/tranny longevity.

I'm not saying that running the more extreme tunes is necessarily "damaging" to your truck, I know a lot of people have run the 210 and/or 310 for ~30,000 miles without any immediately perceivable trouble, but to even imply you can run equally as long with a tune compared to someone with a stock setup is ridiculous.

What we really need is a tune that you can activate "on the fly" so it's not so hard to return to stock and you can only activate the extra power when you really need it.
utahnguy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome