tpms sensors after 35" Toyo MT's and new 20's? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4 Exterior Discussion Body and Accessories Talk

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-27-2009, 02:55 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DFW
Posts: 146
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
tpms sensors after 35" Toyo MT's and new 20's?

I have just installed new 20" XD's and 35" Toyo Mt's on my '08 f250 CC SB.
I installed new tpms sensors and bands on all the wheels but I get the low pressure light on and tire pressure monitor fault on my message center. Took it to Pep Boys and the tool they have is picking up the sensors and air temp but for some reason its not communication with the truck.

In the owners manual it states it supposed to come with a reset tool but it does not have one.

What are you guys with after market wheels and tires for this?

The light and dinging is getting on my nerves.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-27-2009, 03:04 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: las vegas
Posts: 492
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
go ask you r dealer for the tool. as far as i know the tool just tells the computer the location of each individual sensor. the pressures your sensors are set for should be listed on the yellow card in the door pillar. if you have a f 250 its 65psi up, if you have a 350 it's 85. there is a section in the owners manual that tells you the grace domain the pressures can be within before it trips the sensors. i think its 15% of the listed pressure. i run my tires at 55 psi and the light never comes on. i have a 250. if you r tires cant takes enough pressure it's rather unfortunate because you will not get the light off without taking the cluster apart and removing the bulb which im not sure is even possible. ford will not shut off the sensor system nd as of yet there is not tuning to get around it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-27-2009, 03:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: las vegas
Posts: 492
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i didnt get my tool either so i called the dealer and they sent it to me i think they are like 20$ if you go buy it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-27-2009, 03:25 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Deerfield Beach FL
Posts: 1,757
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to InMotionJosh
The tool isnt goign to allow you to change the pressures that the sensors read. You will have to deal with it and wait until the tuning companies figure out a way to get around this.

Also taking apart the cluster will probably prove to be a waste of time as im sure the bulbs are soldered in. I think that the tire pressure warning pops up on the information center anyway
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-27-2009, 03:44 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DFW
Posts: 146
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My toyos are E-rated so there isnt an issue with tire pressure. they are rated for 65 and thats where they are at.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-27-2009, 04:36 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: EDMOND, OK
Posts: 2,735
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
just buy a spartan and put them in your intake tube and run at WOT every where you keep it above 55psi and youll be good.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-27-2009, 04:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dallas
Posts: 2,306
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by FX4STROKER View Post
just buy a spartan and put them in your intake tube and run at WOT every where you keep it above 55psi and youll be good.
I sense some sarcasm there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-28-2009, 10:36 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: las vegas
Posts: 492
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by InMotionJosh View Post
The tool isnt goign to allow you to change the pressures that the sensors read. You will have to deal with it and wait until the tuning companies figure out a way to get around this.

Also taking apart the cluster will probably prove to be a waste of time as im sure the bulbs are soldered in. I think that the tire pressure warning pops up on the information center anyway
you are right there is a light but there is also a low tire pressure warning in the message center.

if your tires are rated for 65 there shouldn't be an issue. as far as i know the tool just tells the computer where the sensor is located. i also make sure all the tires are as close to the same pressure as i can. i don't know if that does anything but i run mine at 55 and have never had a problem with the light.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-28-2009, 10:50 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: DFW
Posts: 146
Thanks: 6
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by valetcruiser View Post
you are right there is a light but there is also a low tire pressure warning in the message center.

if your tires are rated for 65 there shouldn't be an issue. as far as i know the tool just tells the computer where the sensor is located. i also make sure all the tires are as close to the same pressure as i can. i don't know if that does anything but i run mine at 55 and have never had a problem with the light.
Yeah Im not sure what the hell is going on. I just checked them again with a different gauge and I have 64 lbs in all of them. Got the reset tool key fob thingy from Ford and its not finding the sensor. Light is still on. Says " Tire Pressure Sensor Fault" on the message center.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-28-2009, 05:26 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: las vegas
Posts: 492
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
are you getting the tool to reset it correctly? the sensors should be in line with the valve stem if they were installed correctly. im at a loss for any other suggestions short of breaking the bead and verifying the sensors were actually re-installed. once i got the pressures right and reset the sensors i never had any other problems. there is a certain order for the reset process. in other words you need to start at the correct wheel but as long as you followed the manual's directions you should be golden.

the only other thought i would have is that maybe you have a optional package such as a camper package that would call for the 85 psi pressures in the rears and the 64 or 65 psi you are running isn't enough.

good luck with it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors