Ford spedo calibration - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4 Exterior Discussion Body and Accessories Talk

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2008, 10:03 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 177
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ford spedo calibration

I know i've read on this site before what the max tire size the ford factory computer is capable of being adjusted to, but I can't seem to find it.

Recently switched from he stock 33.3 inch tires to a set of 35's. It has affected my spedo a bit.

Truck is going in for service next tuesday, wondering if I should bother to ask the service guys to try and adjust the computer?

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-30-2008, 10:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,211
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've been told 35 is the max a dealer can calibrate for.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-30-2008, 10:19 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 177
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
that would work for me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-30-2008, 12:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Marysville, Wa
Posts: 1,274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to Dusten
yep, 35" is the max
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-01-2009, 11:18 AM
WNY Biodiesel Co-op
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Orchard Park New York
Posts: 868
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbiersba View Post
I know i've read on this site before what the max tire size the ford factory computer is capable of being adjusted to, but I can't seem to find it.

Recently switched from he stock 33.3 inch tires to a set of 35's. It has affected my spedo a bit.

Truck is going in for service next tuesday, wondering if I should bother to ask the service guys to try and adjust the computer?

Thanks
try this link Speedometer Calibration??? - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums It worked for my 95 f150
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-02-2009, 04:49 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Beaumont TX
Posts: 3,802
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by greasyF250 View Post
try this link Speedometer Calibration??? - Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums It worked for my 95 f150
Wont work on these 08...nothing will at the moment.

However as said above, I think the dealer can get it close for 35's...but thats it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-02-2009, 01:05 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 177
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
excellent, I go in Tuesday....
Venturi install, oil change, 30K maint., re-calibrate the spedo (hopefully), and apparently there is a software update available ( I had heard that it was suspended, but dealer says there is one available).

If unable to adjust the spedo, i'll post here.

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-06-2009, 06:01 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Mercury
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pahrump View Post
Wont work on these 08...nothing will at the moment.

However as said above, I think the dealer can get it close for 35's...but thats it.
I do not visit all the forums as often as I should, but yes there is a inline device that will work on the 08 F250, as a matter of fact there are many on F450's from 2008

as for programmers, i do not know of any, but for inline devices....

speed wizard by merlin controls I would think the truspeed would work as well but I hear people say no it don't....

kenny
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-08-2009, 06:16 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 177
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
update:

Picked up the truck yesterday afternoon. Turns out I had to pay 51 bucks and change (after tax) to have them re-calibrate the cpu to take into account the new tires.

Prior to the change, my speed was off by about 2.5 MPH at 60MPH (calculated by GPS). After the adjustment, I am still of by at least 1.5MPH or more. SO, in my opinion, his is very little improvement for my 50 bucks. Had I known that this adjustment would only bring my spedo 1MPH closer to being accurate, I probably wouldn't have spent the money.

For future reference here's the tech write-up indicating what the lower limit of the module is in our '08 vehicles:

26210 TIRE SIZE REPROGRAMMING PROGRAMMED TIRE RPM TO 596, THE LOWEST ALLOWABLE BY MODULE

For reference, my 35's say that the revs per mile is 593. Close, but no cigar

Jay
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-08-2009, 07:40 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 141
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Mercury
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbiersba View Post
update:

Picked up the truck yesterday afternoon. Turns out I had to pay 51 bucks and change (after tax) to have them re-calibrate the cpu to take into account the new tires.

Prior to the change, my speed was off by about 2.5 MPH at 60MPH (calculated by GPS). After the adjustment, I am still of by at least 1.5MPH or more. SO, in my opinion, his is very little improvement for my 50 bucks. Had I known that this adjustment would only bring my spedo 1MPH closer to being accurate, I probably wouldn't have spent the money.

For future reference here's the tech write-up indicating what the lower limit of the module is in our '08 vehicles:

26210 TIRE SIZE REPROGRAMMING PROGRAMMED TIRE RPM TO 596, THE LOWEST ALLOWABLE BY MODULE

For reference, my 35's say that the revs per mile is 593. Close, but no cigar

Jay

I hate to see when people spend good hard earned money and do not get what they should in return...

Cant you fight the dealer to put it back to normal then?

have you tried an inline device?

kenny
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors