tpms sensors on lifted truck - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4 Exterior Discussion Body and Accessories Talk

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-23-2012, 09:39 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
tpms sensors on lifted truck

about to get my truck lifted and wanted to know if it was even worth it to get my tpms sensors changed out from my stock tires and wheels to my new set?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-23-2012, 11:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Covina, Ca.
Posts: 2,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Depends if the PSI rating on the new tires is equal to what the Door Sticker says. Otherwise, you'll have a TPMS light and message regardless.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-23-2012, 11:59 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Valley Springs, SD
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
it depends on if you wanna look at your tire light or not. if you can keep your aftermarket wheels at same pressure as what the stock ones are at it would be worth swapping them over.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-25-2012, 11:13 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i just assumed i had the sensors but maybe i dont cuz i let allot of air out of one of the front tires yesterday and drove around the block and the light never came on. do some of the 08s not have them?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-25-2012, 12:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,198
Thanks: 6
Thanked 36 Times in 35 Posts
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
correct, some of the 08's did not have sensors. and if your tuned,H&S has a tire pressure calibrator that you can adjust the psi they are supposed to be at or totally disable it for 100 bux. but thats only if you have h&s
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-25-2012, 02:27 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I went to get a flat tire fixed at the dealership yesterday and after it was repaired and aired up, I drove away and when I was a block away from the dealership, the TPMS light illuminated. Went back to the dealership and the tech cycled the key and made my truck re-learn the current PSIs in all four tires. I'm assuming that with the stock TPMS unit and knowing the correct sequence of cycling the key and whatever other shenanigans he did, you can get your truck to learn the current PSI of your aftermarket tires.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-25-2012, 06:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Covina, Ca.
Posts: 2,709
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by rubicon53 View Post
i just assumed i had the sensors but maybe i dont cuz i let allot of air out of one of the front tires yesterday and drove around the block and the light never came on. do some of the 08s not have them?
Correct, job 1's did not have the TPMS installed prior to it becoming mandatory. Look on your door sticker to see if it was made in early 07.

Sent from my EVO using AutoGuide app.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-31-2012, 12:03 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by smotrs View Post
Correct, job 1's did not have the TPMS installed prior to it becoming mandatory. Look on your door sticker to see if it was made in early 07.

Sent from my EVO using AutoGuide app.
yeah i just checked the inside of my door and it said 1/07 so that works out for me thanks man
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors