Help I think I screwed up my paint - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4 Exterior Discussion Body and Accessories Talk

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-15-2010, 12:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Help I think I screwed up my paint

Alright all,

I was hoping to get some input from people who know how to fix this.
When I was home on leave from Iraq, I got the great idea of detailing my truck. Since its a big a$$ truck i decided that using a professional buffer/polisher would be the easiest route. Since I have no real experience using such a machine I "self educated" myself with online how-to videos. I tried to be careful, but I ended up getting swirl marks on pretty much the whole truck. Now it doesn't look like it went through to far into the clear, but I dont know how to fix it and im worried about screwing it up even more.
I know there's a bunch of suggestions online, but i wanted to know the best route to get this fixed without breaking the bank.
I dont have pics because Im back in Iraq and the truck is in storage, but i will be coming home soon and wanted to get this done when i got back. BTW its Dark Blue Pearl Metallic paint

Thanks for any advice,
Dom

Last edited by strivingfirst; 05-15-2010 at 12:49 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-15-2010, 07:49 AM

I would take it to a professional body or detailing shop and see if they can fix it.
Old 05-15-2010, 07:57 AM

ditto.. it'd be worth the money having a professional fix it rather than risking making it worse and being out of pocket even more
Old 05-15-2010, 08:42 AM
Premium Member

Well, if you did get into the clear to much, look at the bright side. Now, you can have the clear sanded off, clear coat it by a professional and you should no longer have the orange peel look.
Old 05-15-2010, 08:47 AM