Tune off your TPMS light..... - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4 Exterior Discussion Body and Accessories Talk

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 46 Old 08-05-2009, 09:35 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Tune off your TPMS light.....

For those of you who have their TPMS light constantly on because of aftermarket tires and wish to blow it to smithereens, I have a thought.

We all know installing the sensors in the spare tire or PVC pipe will not work because they need to rotate for activation. What if we made a small PVC pipe, installed the sensor in the pressurized pipe then attached the pipe to the tire band inside the tire? Would balancing the wheel be a problem because of the extra weight? Oh maybe the learning tool/fob would not work because the sensor is obscured? Can radio frequency pass though plastic?

Last edited by Harley350; 08-05-2009 at 09:40 AM.
Harley350 is offline  
post #2 of 46 Old 08-05-2009, 04:03 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
DINOONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
The easiest solution (what I did for the yellow light) is tear the cluster apart and remove the LED light on the board. As far as the message just hit reset. As far as the PVC can in your Wheel you will never get that thing balanced correctly and you will most likely have a horrible wheel wobble. Yes the sensor can pass through plastic and the rubber it worked for a while in my spare tire.

List of things that I tried before coming to my final solution:
  • Talking to the Dealer about lowering the pressure (Wont do it b/c of Fed Regulations BS)... FAIL
  • Using the sensors from another Ford car/ truck with lower pressure.... FAIL
  • Install the sensors in the spare tire..... FAIL
  • Installing the sensors in a tube pressurized to set PSI.... FAIL
  • Waiting on a Tuner Company to come out with a solution... FAIL




Quote:
Originally Posted by Harley350 View Post
For those of you who have their TPMS light constantly on because of aftermarket tires and wish to blow it to smithereens, I have a thought.

We all know installing the sensors in the spare tire or PVC pipe will not work because they need to rotate for activation. What if we made a small PVC pipe, installed the sensor in the pressurized pipe then attached the pipe to the tire band inside the tire? Would balancing the wheel be a problem because of the extra weight? Oh maybe the learning tool/fob would not work because the sensor is obscured? Can radio frequency pass though plastic?
DINOONE is offline  
post #3 of 46 Old 08-05-2009, 04:06 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Abrannan19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Jacksonville,Fl
Posts: 3,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Abrannan19
Quote:
Originally Posted by DINOONE View Post
The easiest solution (what I did for the yellow light) is tear the cluster apart and remove the LED light on the board. As far as the message just hit reset. As far as the PVC can in your Wheel you will never get that thing balanced correctly and you will most likely have a horrible wheel wobble. Yes the sensor can pass through plastic and the rubber it worked for a while in my spare tire.

List of things that I tried before coming to my final solution:
  • Talking to the Dealer about lowering the pressure (Wont do it b/c of Fed Regulations BS)... FAIL
  • Using the sensors from another Ford car/ truck with lower pressure.... FAIL
  • Install the sensors in the spare tire..... FAIL
  • Installing the sensors in a tube pressurized to set PSI.... FAIL
  • Waiting on a Tuner Company to come out with a solution... FAIL
Yep I feel you on all of those fails...I beat my head against the wall on my wifes Ford Edge when I put 22's on it..tried all kinds of stuff that never worked, I bought the factory ford bands and installed the sensors in there the right way..and they have worked great since then, although I would like to lower the tire pressure a bit, but I cant unless I want to look at a low tire light..last I heard Eric @ IDP was working on this..

Adam Brannan

First Coast Diesel Performance

Abrannan19 is offline  
post #4 of 46 Old 08-06-2009, 04:58 AM
Serving Our Country!
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
DINOONE Can you post the specific sensor that you tried. Another member had luck with sensor #6F2Z1A189A. It is used in a fusion, etc. I found a local wholesaler who can get me a whole kit around 200 with new bands etc. I might try this when i put my lift on in a few weeks.

2008 F350 FX4 6.4L Diesel, every option except nav, roof, esof, and tailgate step.
stunya is offline  
post #5 of 46 Old 08-06-2009, 01:25 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
DINOONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
I tried the Fusion, Edge, and Focus. Neither of them worked for me I have $400 worth of sensors still sitting in my garage.


Quote:
Originally Posted by stunya View Post
DINOONE Can you post the specific sensor that you tried. Another member had luck with sensor #6F2Z1A189A. It is used in a fusion, etc. I found a local wholesaler who can get me a whole kit around 200 with new bands etc. I might try this when i put my lift on in a few weeks.
DINOONE is offline  
post #6 of 46 Old 08-06-2009, 02:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
smotrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Covina, Ca.
Posts: 2,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The problem isn't the sensors, it's the computer. The sensors only relay the current pressure, if the computer determines the pressure reported by any of the sensors is out of range, it turns on the TPMS light and message.

Shaun

'08 F250 6.4L Lariat 4x4 CC/SRW fully loaded, special ordered
6" Fabtech 2.25 dual shock lift w/18" AR wheels, 35" Toyo AT's
Avic-Z2 Nav/Stereo w/iPod, Bluetooth, XM NavTraffic
(2) Rear headrest mnt DVD entertainment systems
Line-X bedliner
Banks CAI, Dual Exhaust, Six-Gun, Speed Brake & iQ (test vehicle)
Bushwacker Fender Flares
Ravelco Anti Theft Device

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Santorum
We went into a recession in 2008 because of gasoline prices.
smotrs is offline  
post #7 of 46 Old 08-08-2009, 06:01 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
DINOONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Correct and the only people that can lower the computer pressure is the Dealer and thier gonna tell you because of "Fed Regualtions unless the system is damaged they cannot work on it!"


Quote:
Originally Posted by smotrs View Post
The problem isn't the sensors, it's the computer. The sensors only relay the current pressure, if the computer determines the pressure reported by any of the sensors is out of range, it turns on the TPMS light and message.
DINOONE is offline  
post #8 of 46 Old 08-08-2009, 06:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
hunterc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Canyon, TX
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I had this problem back in January...I work in a tire shop tho so I had some resources. I got 20 inch bands and reused my sensors (marking the position of the sensor from where I got it, like left rear and inside and outside) in my new tires. Haven't had a problem since then. That's the most logical way to go I think. It was like $20 for the bands and it's a really simple install.

Peter

08 Black FX4 F-250, CCSB, FloPro 4" straight, Banks dual exhaust, Spartan 310 & 275, Suncoast solenoid, EGR plates, S&B CAI, Readylift coil spacers in front/blocks in the back, MB Offroad wheels, 35x12.50R20 Toyo M/Ts, black billet grill, custom smoked mirror, tail, clearance lights and 3rd brake lenses, custom painted fender vents w/ chrome billet inserts

hunterc is offline  
post #9 of 46 Old 08-08-2009, 10:55 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
smotrs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Covina, Ca.
Posts: 2,709
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by DINOONE View Post
Correct and the only people that can lower the computer pressure is the Dealer and thier gonna tell you because of "Fed Regualtions unless the system is damaged they cannot work on it!"
Exactly correct.

I still think it would be better for the dealer (Ford, Chevy, Dodge, Toyota, etc..) to change it and have control over it then to let millions of drivers drive around with larger tires without a clue as to whether they have the right PSI in them or not. Sure, I can get out of the truck, and check the PSI myself to see if the tires are properly inflated. But not everyone does that and as such, they could potentially be an accident waiting to happen because they are driving around on improperly inflated tires.

Wouldn't it be better to make the system at least usable rather then just say, "Sorry, we can't touch it."

Just don't get it.

Shaun

'08 F250 6.4L Lariat 4x4 CC/SRW fully loaded, special ordered
6" Fabtech 2.25 dual shock lift w/18" AR wheels, 35" Toyo AT's
Avic-Z2 Nav/Stereo w/iPod, Bluetooth, XM NavTraffic
(2) Rear headrest mnt DVD entertainment systems
Line-X bedliner
Banks CAI, Dual Exhaust, Six-Gun, Speed Brake & iQ (test vehicle)
Bushwacker Fender Flares
Ravelco Anti Theft Device

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rick Santorum
We went into a recession in 2008 because of gasoline prices.
smotrs is offline  
post #10 of 46 Old 08-08-2009, 03:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
DINOONE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 713
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
So your Running 70 psi in your 33" Toyo M/T?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hunterc View Post
I had this problem back in January...I work in a tire shop tho so I had some resources. I got 20 inch bands and reused my sensors (marking the position of the sensor from where I got it, like left rear and inside and outside) in my new tires. Haven't had a problem since then. That's the most logical way to go I think. It was like $20 for the bands and it's a really simple install.
DINOONE is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome