12 Vdc outlet in the bed - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4 Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-11-2014, 01:20 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
12 Vdc outlet in the bed

I searched but no luck. I need to add a 12 VDC cigarette type outlet in my bed.

I want to run the Hot from the battery... what is the best way... can I through cab and then to bed or should I just run all underneath and drill hole up into bed?

I have an 09 crewcab... I have run outlets before in my jeeps and such but not to bed of truck. My Titan had one installed from factory
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-14-2014, 06:46 PM
Military Member
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't see why you couldn't run it along the frame of the truck using zip ties then depending where it's at go from there. I'd assume your putting it near the tailgate? I would stay away from running it through the cab. HUGE head ache bud...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-14-2014, 06:50 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,535
Thanks: 54
Thanked 125 Times in 119 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
fuse it for sure if you run a dedicated
but check your trailer plug if you want one that is on with the ignition there should be a wire available right there it's also high amp I run my airlift compressor on mine and a small winch to load a motorcycle
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-15-2014, 07:50 PM
Military Member
 

Join Date: May 2010
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 70
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZMANN View Post
fuse it for sure if you run a dedicated
but check your trailer plug if you want one that is on with the ignition there should be a wire available right there it's also high amp I run my airlift compressor on mine and a small winch to load a motorcycle
That's not a bad idea at all. I agree 100% to fuse it. It's honestly up to you as to how you want to run it or where to splice for the juice. Either way, if you get in a snag, we're all here to help! I'll be waiting to hear what you end up doing!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors