Upfitter switch install questions - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4 Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 08-09-2013, 11:42 PM Thread Starter
live for the now


 
ZombieSoldier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ludowici, Georgia
Posts: 2,422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 32
Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Upfitter switch install questions

ok i have 2 questions about installing the upfitter switches

- I currently have the electric tow in my truck and want to get the upfitter switches. do i have to order anything specific to keep the electric tow brakes and have the switches, ie; specific harness or even might be a different switch setup, idk?

- once i install the switches, i want to wire my LED lightbar into the switches, is their a pre-existing harness in there i tap into, or?

2008 F250-"White Beauty" Spartan tuning and TCM, 4" downpipe, 5" Flo-Pro exhaust, No Limit Fabrication cold air intake and CAC pipe/intake elbow, Dleted and Studded, Elite 71mm atmosphere turbo, Air Dog II DF-165, SunCoast transmission, River City Diesel torque converter, 20x9 BMF Novakanes, 7" Icon/ 37" Toyo MT, Nitrous Outlet, 659rwhp/ 1375rwtq (Fuel only) 04/19/2014
COASTAL GEORGIA POWERSTROKEShttps://www.facebook.com/groups/Coas...aPowerstrokes/
ZombieSoldier is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-26-2013, 02:16 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
XPLOSIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just installed it on my truck. It replaces the change holder. Comes with 4 capped wires that get located under the drivers side dash.

08 F450 CCLB 4.30's
Spartan, Pure Performance Custom 3", Toyo M608Z, MBRP, FloPro, Banks, Volant, Mishimoto, Dieselsite, LineX, Reese 30k
XPLOSIV is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-26-2013, 10:11 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

 
tony97gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Broward County
Posts: 644
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
The upfitter switch bundle comes with a harness that plugs into a plug underneath the dash that is prewired for upfitter switches. Once you do that, there are four wires that go from the cabin, thru the firewall, and into the engine bay. Those are the ones you use to draw power from the upfitter switches. They are color coded based on the output of each switch because each one has different outputs. The instructions for the upfitters should explain this.

2008 F250 Harley Davidson 4x4, Upgraded LED lighting, JL Audio 13.5" Stealthbox, JL Audio C3 door speakers, JL Audio 500.1 for the stealthbox, JL Audio 400.4 for the doors, Viper 5704 alarm/SmartStart and GPS tracker, JimmiJammer door plates, JimmiJammer gateguard, Delete front lock/rear handle swap, DPF delete, MiniMaxx, 2.5" level, Sinister coolant filter, 55w 6000k HID's driving/fog lights, S+B CAI, MBRP 5" DP back exhaust, 35x12.5x20 TIS 20" rims, Nitto Trail Grapplers, adjustable track bar.
tony97gt is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-27-2013, 11:16 PM
Member
 
DieselPowerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Make sure when you're buying the parts that the relay and relay mount come with the switches. I had to double make sure when ordering from the dealership. Basically you'll get the switches with the wiring harness that plugs into a connector that is under the dash and to the right of the steering column. Mine was tucked WAY up in behind my dash. and then there's a metal bracket that mounts behind the dash vent on the drivers side of the gauge cluster, this is where you mount the relay to. The relay mount attaches to two metal tabs (see pics) don't mind the zip tie in the pic, I was just test fitting things. I didn't have to wire anything through the fire wall for the install. The only wires through the fire wall was the wire into the cab from the lights I installed to one of the four colour coded wires in the upfitter harness.

If you search on the forum there's a few other posts about this topic, I just did a quick search but can't find it off hand. I'll include some pics below of my install, hope they help! Oh and if you do a google search for Ford upfitter install, you'll find tech support sheets from ford that will help you with what amperage comes from what colour wire and what switch can handle that many amps etc.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1223.jpg
Views:	968
Size:	93.7 KB
ID:	160609   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1224.jpg
Views:	336
Size:	89.6 KB
ID:	160617   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1238.jpg
Views:	674
Size:	92.4 KB
ID:	160633   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1237.jpg
Views:	332
Size:	95.9 KB
ID:	160641   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1239.jpg
Views:	398
Size:	95.9 KB
ID:	160649  


Last edited by DieselPowerFan; 08-28-2013 at 05:10 AM. Reason: added information
DieselPowerFan is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-27-2013, 11:20 PM
Member
 
DieselPowerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
More pics, Hope these might help.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1240.jpg
Views:	1136
Size:	95.8 KB
ID:	160657   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1241.jpg
Views:	468
Size:	91.3 KB
ID:	160665   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1242.jpg
Views:	602
Size:	92.1 KB
ID:	160673   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1243.jpg
Views:	1172
Size:	96.6 KB
ID:	160681  
DieselPowerFan is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-27-2013, 11:42 PM
Member
 
DieselPowerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
DieselPowerFan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome