Upfitter Question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4 Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-2013, 06:01 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Upfitter Question

I need some help figuring out something. I just purchase a 2010 f350 Lariat. I already installed a dropdown DVD to upfitter 4. While doing the install, I noticed that the 3 other upfitters are already hooked up to something. The 3 lines are connected to a 3 prong outlet that runs to the bed of the truck. there is no inverter. What would this be used for?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-29-2013, 06:10 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Trinidad Colorado ,USA
Posts: 5,504
Thanks: 116
Thanked 151 Times in 148 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Welcome to the site.
If I had to guess Id wonder maybe the truck had some lights on the bed or some back up lights? Maybe a back up mirror in a camper??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-29-2013, 06:24 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It is strange because it has a 3 pronged household plug at the terminated end in the bed close to the cab. there are no 5th wheel rails in the bed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-29-2013, 06:48 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Trinidad Colorado ,USA
Posts: 5,504
Thanks: 116
Thanked 151 Times in 148 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Wait it has like a house hold plug in type thing
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-29-2013, 06:54 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yes, that is what confuses me. it is an outside household plug with a locking mechanism that will make sure it does get pulled unplugged. upfitter 1, 2, and 3 are connected to the 3 wires of the plug.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-29-2013, 07:23 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Trinidad Colorado ,USA
Posts: 5,504
Thanks: 116
Thanked 151 Times in 148 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
wow I cant imagine what the heck they would of tryed doing that....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-29-2013, 09:34 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Northwest Mississippi
Posts: 144
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ceedub1170 View Post
I need some help figuring out something. I just purchase a 2010 f350 Lariat. I already installed a dropdown DVD to upfitter 4. While doing the install, I noticed that the 3 other upfitters are already hooked up to something. The 3 lines are connected to a 3 prong outlet that runs to the bed of the truck. there is no inverter. What would this be used for?
Maybe someone had an inverter in line or plugged to it and just removed it. Could have been a camper.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-29-2013, 12:07 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
But doesn't it seem strange that all 3 wires are hot?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-29-2013, 10:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San antonio TX
Posts: 1,274
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yes, yes it is strange.
I'm guessing they used it as as backyard wiring for something they could remove. And whatever it was it had a std plug wired to it as well. Ya know so you could unplug it and remove it, they may have had all three connected at the device (whatever it was) to make sure they didn't overload one of the switches. Who knows, remove it after you get a few pics!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors