another remote start question 2010 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4 Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2013, 02:49 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
another remote start question 2010

so I just bought me a 2010 and I would love to have remote start. My question is, if I buy a factory one is there one that has ONE remote with lock/unlock and start or only the separate one button start I keep reading about? Also, if you have OEM remote start does it turn the heat and seat heaters, or AC on depending on the cab temperature like a GM or is it just where you left it last time your drove it? GM really had their **** together on their remote start on my wifes Tahoe. it does everything when remote started depending on temperature. If this one wont I will be better off going aftermarket mainly because of the range but I know aftermarket will only have the heat/air where you left it last time in the truck. If there is a good OEM add on, does anyone know the ford part number?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-29-2013, 05:33 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't know about a ford add on but Viper has a nice setup. I think it is the 5901.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-29-2013, 09:50 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If I find out for sure that the OEM wont operate the climate control accordingly when remote started I will definitely go aftermarket simply because the range is better but the whole point of remote start is so the truck is warm or cool when you get to it and I know the aftermarket isn't going to adjust the climate control. Anyone know if the OEM style remote start controls the climate control according to cab temp.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-30-2013, 01:46 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I was thinking of the Viper 5904 not 5901. It can do alot of cool stuff like let windows down and up . If you have a Best Buy or some sort of car and audio store close to you go there and ask about it. I don't know all it can do but it can be programed to do alot. Once you go to a reseller they can tell you exactly what can be programed for your truck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-05-2013, 08:19 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Broward County
Posts: 638
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Viper - Security with Remote Start

I have the 5704 which I believe is the same as the 5904 except the 5904 has a color remote. I didn't think the extra $200 was worth it. It has a GPS tracker, turbo timer, you can do the window thing, and a ton of stuff. I can start the truck from anywhere in the world using the app on my phone. I love the alarm and all of it's functions! I'm even going to program it to use one of the auxilary buttons to honk my train horn.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-05-2013, 09:39 PM
Fueling M.A.D. Everywhere
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rockwall, TX
Posts: 1,817
Thanks: 3
Thanked 32 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I need to figure out how to wire in all this aux functions on my viper... Train horn hooked in would be sweet! (Totally obnoxious and unnecessary, but sweet nonetheless)...


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-06-2013, 06:18 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Broward County
Posts: 638
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CountryAggie View Post
I need to figure out how to wire in all this aux functions on my viper... Train horn hooked in would be sweet! (Totally obnoxious and unnecessary, but sweet nonetheless)...


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
All I did was download the wiring diagram for my specific model alarm and go from there. You use the aux output on the alarm control box as a trigger for relay. Wire you 12v and ground and output onto the relay and you're good. Just gotta use some parameters for the aux output on what type of signal it sends. Momentary, 5secs, on/off, etc
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-06-2013, 07:02 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Rancho C. CA
Posts: 157
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by gumbie View Post
so I just bought me a 2010 and I would love to have remote start. My question is, if I buy a factory one is there one that has ONE remote with lock/unlock and start or only the separate one button start I keep reading about? Also, if you have OEM remote start does it turn the heat and seat heaters, or AC on depending on the cab temperature like a GM or is it just where you left it last time your drove it? GM really had their **** together on their remote start on my wifes Tahoe. it does everything when remote started depending on temperature. If this one wont I will be better off going aftermarket mainly because of the range but I know aftermarket will only have the heat/air where you left it last time in the truck. If there is a good OEM add on, does anyone know the ford part number?
The OEM remote wont do anything but Lock, Unlock & start. I replaced mine with Viper 5904. I was told its the only model to control more than one aux button. I agree the reason for remote start is cab temp control (makes it nice on hot days). The only thing is when you turn your auto temp on remotely it can not adjust it up/down ( only where you had it set last before you shot it off) .
The guy who did it for me asked me 200 bucks if I wanted to control my windows (witch I should had done , but I didnt cuz he had to get a couple of modules ? that would go behind door panels).
Instead I got this other viper module thing (80 bucks) and another 120 bucks paid to Viper for a three year subscription, so I can use my IPhone as a remote. Pretty dumb ( used it only twice. IPhone app dosnt respond nearly as good as the remote)

Last edited by F450Harley; 04-06-2013 at 07:13 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors