How to wire train horn to stock horn for alarm purposes? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4 Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Like Tree1Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2012, 10:36 PM
Yeah it's a Turbo Diesel
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,174
Thanks: 28
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
How to wire train horn to stock horn for alarm purposes?

I'd like to connect my train horn so that my aftermarket alarm will chirp and blow when the alarm is set and when the horn chirps when locking and unlocking the truck. I have the train horn on off switch to upfitter 1. Just most sure exactly how to make this work. I don't want the train horn to blow when you honk the stock horn, I just want the train horns to sound when activating/ deactivating/ and sound when
The alarm goes off.



Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-23-2012, 04:09 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cen Cal
Posts: 670
Thanks: 4
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Connect teh air valve teh horn. U are probably goin to hav to use a manual switch so it doesnt open teh air valve when using ur regular horn. That should scare teh thief.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-23-2012, 06:45 AM
Yeah it's a Turbo Diesel
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,174
Thanks: 28
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Gotchya. Yeah that's my main purpose to scare the thief.. My 05 f250 was stolen so on this truck I told myself is connect the train horns to the alarm


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-23-2012, 06:52 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,618
Thanks: 57
Thanked 127 Times in 121 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
your alarm has a siren output you would just use that and wire in a relay

if your alarm is using the stock horn I would disconnect it and use a separate siren anyway this will eliminate your horn honk /air horn activation issue
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-23-2012, 06:59 AM
Yeah it's a Turbo Diesel
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,174
Thanks: 28
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
This is where this is confusing for me... Because is t the stock horn circuit completed when its grounded? And my train horn is + activated. You can't connect the positive a d negative can you?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-23-2012, 07:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: FL
Posts: 4,220
Thanks: 20
Thanked 26 Times in 17 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No, you can't. Thinking.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-23-2012, 07:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,618
Thanks: 57
Thanked 127 Times in 121 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the alarm output either has two leads or is programmable for +- output

what alarm ?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-23-2012, 07:28 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,618
Thanks: 57
Thanked 127 Times in 121 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
also if u take the OEM horn out of the alarm and have a neg trigger
it will work fine because of the relay u need to use can be activated by either +or-
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-23-2012, 07:31 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7,618
Thanks: 57
Thanked 127 Times in 121 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
85 would be the alarm horn output and 86 wouldn't be switched just fused or jumpered to the pos lead 30

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-23-2012, 08:13 AM
Yeah it's a Turbo Diesel
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,174
Thanks: 28
Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Ah ok I see. That makes sense, I think.. Whenever running a relay I have to lay it out and diagram it myself for it to make sense. It's a viper alarm, I'd have to check the PDF manual to see which version it is.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors