Running an amp and 4 speakers off the factory head unit? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4 Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2012, 02:57 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Fayette/Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 5,271
Thanks: 22
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Running an amp and 4 speakers off the factory head unit?

Ahh heads up I have an 06 F-250 and I posted this in the wrong forum! sorry

Well I've had enough of the stock speakers so I'm getting 4 alpine SPS-517 (75w) speakers and a MRX-F35 (55-60w) amp for the truck.

I realize the head unit is going to be the weak link in the system but I'm not really interested in upgrading it at the current moment. The amp has speaker level inputs so I should be fine hooking it up. How much is it gonna hurt my sound though?

Anyone have any input? My head unit is a factory 6-disc and I kind of like the factory look.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-16-2012, 03:03 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 145
Thanks: 8
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The only way your headunit will be the weak link is its lack of adjustability. That and it may have a fairly low point that it start to clip at, I haven't had a chance to test for clipping yet though.

Last edited by Alaskan_awd; 12-16-2012 at 03:51 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-16-2012, 04:00 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Fayette/Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 5,271
Thanks: 22
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Well I guess the worst that could happen is it doesn't work correctly and I have to get a head unit. That's really not a problem if it comes down to it though
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-16-2012, 04:10 PM
Yeah it's a Turbo Diesel
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,306
Thanks: 32
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
You need a line converter to work it all together. I did this to keep factory look, but badass aftermarket sound


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-16-2012, 04:14 PM
'Merica


 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 2,132
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I did the same, using audiocontrol products. Love it.

sent from phone
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-16-2012, 04:22 PM
Yeah it's a Turbo Diesel
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,306
Thanks: 32
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by thecaptin View Post
I did the same, using audiocontrol products. Love it.

sent from phone
Yeah that's the one I used, very good product for this type of application


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-16-2012, 04:23 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: South Fayette/Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 5,271
Thanks: 22
Thanked 77 Times in 68 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
are you guys using the LC2i line convertor like the ones I see on ebay?

edit- okay I see I can use the LC6i to put 4 speaker channels in and get 4 RCA level channels out to feed the amp. I'm probably not going to start out with that, we'll see how well the amp handles the 4 speaker level inputs by itself first. If I feel there is a sound quality issue or maybe further down the road I'll add a LC6i

I don't plan on ever running any subs. I'm passed that stage plus I definitely don't have the room

Last edited by sinner6.0L; 12-16-2012 at 05:33 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-16-2012, 06:05 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 145
Thanks: 8
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by sinner6.0L View Post
are you guys using the LC2i line convertor like the ones I see on ebay?

edit- okay I see I can use the LC6i to put 4 speaker channels in and get 4 RCA level channels out to feed the amp. I'm probably not going to start out with that, we'll see how well the amp handles the 4 speaker level inputs by itself first. If I feel there is a sound quality issue or maybe further down the road I'll add a LC6i

I don't plan on ever running any subs. I'm passed that stage plus I definitely don't have the room
You shouldn't need a line out converter since your amp has speaker level inputs.

However, what you could do is get a line out converter to feed an EQ, then use rca's from the EQ to your amp.

http://www.amazon.com/Soundstream-MPQ-7XO-Band-Parametric-Equalizer/dp/B000NWHVZC http://www.amazon.com/Soundstream-MPQ-7XO-Band-Parametric-Equalizer/dp/B000NWHVZC

Set your treble/bass settings on your head unit to flat (middle) setting and use that PEQ to tune your system.

Last edited by Alaskan_awd; 12-16-2012 at 06:12 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-16-2012, 08:06 PM
'Merica


 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Puyallup, WA
Posts: 2,132
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I run the lc2i to feed a tiny amp and sub, just cause I enjoy a "fuller" sound. Its small enough that I just stashed it under the stock HU inside the dash.

sent from phone
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-16-2012, 09:15 PM
Yeah it's a Turbo Diesel
 

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Dallas
Posts: 3,306
Thanks: 32
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
I use the lci2 to run a 12" shallow mount behind the rear seat.. Works great!


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors