Backup camera split to aftermarket h/u but has interference - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4 Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-11-2012, 06:02 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Backup camera split to aftermarket h/u but has interference

I have split the signal from the OEM b/u camera to where it feeds the mirror and the aftermarket DNX9990HD Kenwood head unit. After tapping into the wires in the passenger side A-Pillar, I put the truck in reverse to test it as I plugged it in. The signal looked great until I actually plugged it into the head unit. Once plugged in, it displays rolling lines on both screens(mirror and h/u). I then unplugged it and it went back to normal on the mirror. Plug it in and it gets the rolling lines on both. So it the actual connection into the head unit that is sending interference or possibly the signal needs to be amplified before being split. My thinking is it is actually an interference introduced by a faulty ground. I checked the grounds and couldn't find an issue.

Anyone had any experience with this?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-12-2012, 01:01 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I played with it some more today and if I unplug the plug on the back of the mirror the signal on the head unit clears up and the picture looks much better. So I am leaning towards the signal isn't strong enough to be split without being amplified. So my plan now is to buy a powered signal amplifier, take input directly off the wires in the a pillar, amplify the signal and feed both the head unit and the mirror(through the wires in the a-pillar that were cut to feed the amplifier). May be a while before I do that but I will update if and when I do....but I'm fairly confident this will resolve it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-13-2012, 01:18 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

 

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Broward County
Posts: 641
Thanks: 5
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I wanted to do the same thing. Let me know how that works out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-19-2012, 06:27 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I bought a PAC VA26 video amp/splitter to be able to have both front and the OEM rear cameras. There is still signifigant interference. I haven't figured out where it is coming from yet. Just wanted to update that simply amplifying the signal didn't help completely. I'm going to re-run my grounds and power feeds and try to shield the signal wires better. Will update once done.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-29-2012, 07:06 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: H-town
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Same issue

I ran into the same problem but I just decided to cut the signal to the rearview and it corrected the problem on the headunit. I figured the signal was too weak for both and frankly the r/v mirror display was too small anyway.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-29-2012, 10:39 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I did the same thing. I have a strong signal bt the PAC VA26 that I bought apparently was bad according to PAC. I'm waiting on the reseller to receive it and send me a new one. That will serve as the switcher for the front and rear cameras. Other than that, it works fine going just to the head unit. Clear signal and all.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-25-2012, 01:45 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 209
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would think a relay with the backup wire and an additional 12V power source wold fix the problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-04-2012, 03:55 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Emigrant, MT
Posts: 148
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What did it take to hook up the factory back up camera to your Kenwood? I bought a OEM rear camera and want to hook it up to my Kenwood DDX.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-05-2012, 07:25 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I tapped into the wires at the pass. pillar then ran directly into the head unit by soldering a RCA stye connector on. You can get those at radio shack or online....search for RCA connector or phono plugs if you aren't familiar with them. Once you have that connector, it plugs directly into my head unit and yours should as well if it accepts video input.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 07-21-2013, 12:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Post Falls
Posts: 1,109
Thanks: 106
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by f250Jason View Post
I tapped into the wires at the pass. pillar then ran directly into the head unit by soldering a RCA stye connector on. You can get those at radio shack or online....search for RCA connector or phono plugs if you aren't familiar with them. Once you have that connector, it plugs directly into my head unit and yours should as well if it accepts video input.
Where did you find the wire's for the cam and what colors are they?? JUst got a Kenwood unit to put in my truck and I think I'm going to have to tap into these wires with an RCA jack.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 03:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors