Auto Dimming aftermarket head unit - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4 Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-01-2012, 06:16 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Auto Dimming aftermarket head unit

Please help

I am looking for the wire to auto dim my aftermarket head unit with the dash lights.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-01-2012, 04:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: KINGSLAND
Posts: 1,337
Thanks: 8
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
On your radio or the factory plug?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-02-2012, 10:46 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just for others who might need it in the future. I spliced into the 4wd lite switch. It is a purple with gray stripe lite and now the radio dims. The funny thing is all the switches have the same purple with gray strip wire for dimming but the radio harness does not or at least mine does not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-04-2012, 12:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,180
Thanks: 6
Thanked 36 Times in 35 Posts
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
My 05 had one. It was an orange wire with white stripe, the wiring harness had to have one or your factory stereo wouldn't have dimmed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-04-2012, 01:06 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I know but my 2008 does not have the orange/white. I called metra and they were of no help either. I did rig it to dim but the dimmer is not adjustable with the dash dimmer adjustment.

I've been installing my car stereos since 16 so there is experience there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-04-2012, 05:42 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 4,180
Thanks: 6
Thanked 36 Times in 35 Posts
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
I'm not knocking your experience, I was just saying it has to have one if the factory stereo dimmed. My aftermarket stereo dimmed but the dimmer control on the dash didn't affect the stereo, it was either bright or dimmed. But ya got it working so your good
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-21-2012, 07:09 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 34
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by chi6488 View Post
Just for others who might need it in the future. I spliced into the 4wd lite switch. It is a purple with gray stripe lite and now the radio dims. The funny thing is all the switches have the same purple with gray strip wire for dimming but the radio harness does not or at least mine does not.
Just finally did mine the other night and that is the route I had to take.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-07-2012, 02:05 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 324
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to sredmyer
Quote:
Originally Posted by travisH3 View Post
I'm not knocking your experience, I was just saying it has to have one if the factory stereo dimmed. My aftermarket stereo dimmed but the dimmer control on the dash didn't affect the stereo, it was either bright or dimmed. But ya got it working so your good
The 08s and newer Super Dutys do not use a hard wired connection for dimming the radio lights. They use a message on the CAN bus which is the vehicles computer network that allows all of the modules (ie. PCM, TCM ACM, etc.) to talk to each other.. That is why you dont find the dimmer wire among the radio wires.

Steve
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-12-2012, 04:08 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Emigrant, MT
Posts: 148
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
So, is the best way to hook up the dimmer to just splice into the 4WD light wire?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors