Fog light/ high beam override - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4 Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2012, 07:05 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fog light/ high beam override

I know this has been covered numerous times for the 6.0, but my searching did not produce the process on the 08+ trucks. There is a "kit" on eBay for $25, but I figured it was an easy problem to fix, and had been done by members already. If there is a thread I missed, please show me. Thanks.

Incase you have no idea what I am refering to: I want to be able to use my factory fog light and my high beams at the same time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-30-2012, 10:29 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montrose CO
Posts: 161
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'd like to know the same!!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-30-2012, 07:35 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Northern, VA
Posts: 1,027
Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
subscribed.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-31-2012, 01:57 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 42
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Also very interested
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-31-2012, 09:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San antonio TX
Posts: 1,271
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well you can get a few kits, brightbox is a well known one but its about $100, If I had a wiring diagram Im sure it wouldn't be to tough to hook a relay up. OR I hear you can hook them to one of your upfitter switches, bu that seems like a pain.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-01-2012, 07:47 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montrose CO
Posts: 161
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Are the upfit switches relayed? I don't think it would be that tough to hook them up if all you need to do is wire them up! Thanks 44magnum!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-01-2012, 08:44 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San antonio TX
Posts: 1,271
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ya they are relayed, here is a link for a little more info. I was thinking it would be a pain to have to flip an upfitter switch everytime I wanted to turn the fogs on. I guess Im just really f'n lazy. https://www.fleet.ford.com/truckbbas...tml/Q117R1.pdf
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-01-2012, 08:57 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta Canada
Posts: 1,294
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 44magnum View Post
I was thinking it would be a pain to have to flip an upfitter switch everytime I wanted to turn the fogs on. I guess Im just really f'n lazy.
Just get some brighter fog lights. Say something like 4300 lumens each ought to do the job...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-01-2012, 10:29 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 19
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
...and Newbs wonder why they get harassed!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-02-2012, 08:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Montrose CO
Posts: 161
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I looked at the britebox set up yesterday & I'm not sure which kit would be needed? I do think if I was to go with a wire in kit I'd go with the appropriate britebox kit instead of a cheap knock off kit!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors