Upfitter switch or Custom switches? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.4 Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2012, 01:16 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chambersburg PA
Posts: 528
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to skipnay
Upfitter switch or Custom switches?

Ok guys my wife bought me the LED lights for the bed area. I'm also going to be installing more lights like something in the front where the front license plate area is. Anyway my question is should I use the actual upfitter switches or should I make a piece of aluminum and make my own and put the switches in that I want?

Also is there relays already in the truck or should I just get the relays for myself? I have wired enough stuff over the years I know that you can't just run power from the battery to a switch and back to the light without have problems. So is there any wiring behind the dash I can use or not?

Alot of questions sorry. But want it done right.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-02-2012, 05:45 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chambersburg PA
Posts: 528
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to skipnay
No one has an answer or opinion? LOL I would also like to let you know I have plastic sheets I can use anywhere from a thin to thick piece. They are flat pieces and they are black.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-02-2012, 05:47 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Killen
Posts: 142
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The down side of the upfitter will be they are only powered with acc or running. Installed the upfitters myself after-the-fact. They are extremely easy to install. A harness exists to hook them into already. I like the factory look myself is why I went with them. I have a radar detector, GPS, fog light override and strobe lighting (fog and backup) on mine.

Not sure what relays you are referring to that currently exist...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-02-2012, 05:48 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,019
Thanks: 109
Thanked 95 Times in 87 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Use the upfitters. Its your best and easiest option. They are fused and the relays are already there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-02-2012, 06:43 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 794
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Id use the upfitter switches also. Its more of a stelth look instead of drilling a hole and installing a different switch.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-02-2012, 06:59 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,081
Thanks: 1
Thanked 36 Times in 33 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
why wouldn't you just wire the radar detector to the purple key-on wire? just curious
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-02-2012, 07:32 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chambersburg PA
Posts: 528
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to skipnay
Ok where are you guys getting these Upfitter switches? I can find switches close to the factory ones and I would make it look factory....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-07-2012, 06:08 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tucson
Posts: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would also like to know where you get them. Thanks guys!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-07-2012, 10:17 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 1,347
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Here are some kits on ebay:

2008 ford upfitter switches | eBay
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-07-2012, 10:44 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Sacramento
Posts: 132
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 7 reviews
Ford Truck Parts - Full Warranty On All Ford Truck Parts
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors