Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Will I have water damage?

2K views 7 replies 8 participants last post by  kaptain howdie 
#1 ·
Hi,
Just sank my 2008 F250 (King Ranch) the other day. It was a stupid stupid accident, but apparently it's easier for an insurance company to write-off a vehicle than fix it... So I'm in a bad situation now...

The truck slid off the road, down a bank, and into a beaver pond. I've already heard lots of jokes that it's because I'm a woman driver, so it's ok if you laugh! The motor was pretty much completely underwater. It went in on an angle, the drivers side was in up to the mirror, and the passanger side went in up to the top of the front tire.

Before it went in I turned it off, but all of the electronics were going crazy, the doors were locking, the mirrors were moving, the lights were flickering.

When it was towed out I checked the oil, and there wasn't any sign of water. I also checked the air filter and it wasn't wet at all...

Last i herd from the insurance compny, it looks like a write-off. Problem is, I wont get enough back from insurance to replace it.

So I've been weighing the pro' and con's and I'm 99% sure I just want to fight to have it fixed.

I need some male input here! What should I do?? To me it seems easy. the truck's worth $40,000 and a I went and priced a brand new one today and it's $85,000 (CDN) I'd rather fix my '08 that have a $85,000 truck debt!!!

What do you guys think??? I need a man's opinion!!!

See less See more
#2 ·