2008 F250 cruise control not working - Page 2 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

6.4 Electronics Discussion TV's, Radios, everything electric and NON-Performance.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 21 Old 11-13-2009, 12:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
O2ShootTheJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 742
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZeroOne View Post
On another forum, someone had the same issue. No matter how many times they pressed "ON" and "SET", it didn't work. Turned out to be the brake pressure switch. The truck thought the brakes were applied, so cruise wouldn't work.
thats what i was thinkin mine was b/c i have the Brake switch B code. guess i was right! gonna get it looked at around Christmas time.

08 F250 CC SB - too much to list

Big Thanks to:
Smokin' Guns Peformance and Accessories
Throttle Junkie Performance Parts
O2ShootTheJ is offline  
post #12 of 21 Old 11-14-2009, 08:34 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
ZeroOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Southern DE
Posts: 542
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just saw another post about this. Similar, but with more info on WHY the switch failed. Here it is:

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeatMarti View Post
I had the same problem. Replaced the pressure switch and it worked for a few hours, then it started again. It turned out that the wire harness connecting the pressure switch was "stressed" to the point that one of the wires got torn inside the insulation and stopped making contact. The pressure switch circuit (when open) reports "pressure on", hence, the cruise control will not come on.



I fixed the harness and all's well since.
ZeroOne is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 11-26-2009, 01:45 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Dealer replaced the brake switch under warranty. Drove from FL to NY no promblems now. Well the fuel economy sucks 12 mpg @70mph ave.
tomwaye is offline  
post #14 of 21 Old 12-02-2009, 02:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
fx4superduty33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Linden, Michigan
Posts: 222
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
fixed my CC

finally got it fixed by the ford dealer last week, it was the second brake switch, after they replaced to 1st one over the summer, they r two brake switches, WTF FORD ? Anyways it has not messed up at all, i use it every time i drive, Finally im stoked
fx4superduty33 is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 07-03-2011, 06:46 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
j21black's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 685
Thanks: 6
Thanked 12 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My 2010 started doing this yesterday. Had a code for "brake line B" Cleared the code and still no dice. I figured it should come on if that code was not reading.
j21black is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 08-07-2011, 09:27 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
wifordboyee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
just bought a 6.4 and mine doesnt work either! pissed off cause i plan on taking it on a 1800 miles trip this afternoon! gosh darn my poor foot
wifordboyee is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 01-08-2012, 07:29 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have 2010 250 King Ranch with same problem, did they say how they fixed the brake pressure switch?
kingranchjr is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 01-21-2012, 04:55 PM
Member
 
boostin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
happen to me also,did some digging,it is the connections to the switches,one is down by the brake pedal,other is under the hood by the brake booster,un plug them and reseat them will start working havent had a problem since.

2008 king ranch,4x4,quad captains,loaded,manual hubs,manual transfer case(hard to get),8"fabtech 4 link,20in mkw,37 nitto grapplers,mbrp duals
boostin is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 01-22-2012, 03:14 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
FordFanatic83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have a 2008 f-250 with 75000 miles and mine stopped working along with my horn and radio buttons. Turned out to be the clock spring witch is not realy a spring but a coil of wires that looked like a clock spring hints the name "clock spring". Once i replaiced my old one i took it apart and the wires bound up in there and broke apart. Just in case anyone runs into this problem. I know all yalls sounds like the brake pressure switch.
FordFanatic83 is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 02-13-2012, 11:16 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Olive Branch, MS
Posts: 572
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Clock spring

Quote:
Originally Posted by FordFanatic83 View Post
I have a 2008 f-250 with 75000 miles and mine stopped working along with my horn and radio buttons. Turned out to be the clock spring witch is not realy a spring but a coil of wires that looked like a clock spring hints the name "clock spring". Once i replaiced my old one i took it apart and the wires bound up in there and broke apart. Just in case anyone runs into this problem. I know all yalls sounds like the brake pressure switch.
How do I go about replacing the clock spring; about how much did it cost?
Feel free to call me @ 901.371.6437
Thanks man!
Spatel23 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome