Locking hubs froze!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By ZMANN
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 12-15-2013, 05:57 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Locking hubs froze!!

My hubs on 2008 are so hard to turn how
Can free them up or make it Easyer to turn
Them???
Hickman 6.4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-15-2013, 06:06 PM
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
 
ZMANN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13,139
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Thanks: 331
Thanked 617 Times in 584 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
u can try to pull them and lube them but you can't completely disassemble them

so some spray lube and grease may or may not work

,
,
,
,
,,

Quote:
Just because I have a banner that states "Moderator"
does not mean you can't argue with my opinions !
ZMANN is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-15-2013, 06:09 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks I'll try nice truck
Hickman 6.4 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 02-05-2014, 05:24 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What did you find out? My 2008 F250 hubs are hard to turn the knob by hand. Doable but not easy.
gbalaz is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 02-05-2014, 05:43 AM
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
 
ZMANN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 13,139
Mentioned: 18 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 265 Post(s)
Thanks: 331
Thanked 617 Times in 584 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
3 screws , some lube and you can find out if it works for you
Heavy_GD likes this.

,
,
,
,
,,

Quote:
Just because I have a banner that states "Moderator"
does not mean you can't argue with my opinions !
ZMANN is online now  
post #6 of 9 Old 02-05-2014, 06:15 AM
Super Moderator

 
Heavy_GD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: 804Va
Posts: 10,474
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Thanks: 3,451
Thanked 684 Times in 634 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
This should be regular maintenance if you are off road in deep muck or have regular poor road conditions.

GD - 06 CCSB FX4 Lariat
Quote:
Originally Posted by G8orFord View Post
My magic wand broke a few years back when my crystal ball fell on it. Ruined the ball too. So we're going to have to figure this one out another way. YOU NEED A MONITOR or at least a good scanner.
Heavy_GD is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 02-05-2014, 06:17 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Heavy_GD View Post
This should be regular maintenance if you are off road in deep muck or have regular poor road conditions.
Taking the hub out and lubricating it? The 2008 F250 is a new truck to me so this is all brand new. Please clarify what is required. Thank you.
gbalaz is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 02-05-2014, 07:30 AM
Super Moderator

 
Heavy_GD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: 804Va
Posts: 10,474
Mentioned: 41 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 481 Post(s)
Thanks: 3,451
Thanked 684 Times in 634 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Yes, in my experience especially if the hubs are submerged you should pull them off and clean/grease them.

I'm assuming all the hubs are the same if they have the auto/manual lock, then its an easy procedure. this vid is pretty good:


I do mine while I wait for the oil to drain and during front end greasing.

GD - 06 CCSB FX4 Lariat
Quote:
Originally Posted by G8orFord View Post
My magic wand broke a few years back when my crystal ball fell on it. Ruined the ball too. So we're going to have to figure this one out another way. YOU NEED A MONITOR or at least a good scanner.

Last edited by Heavy_GD; 02-05-2014 at 07:58 AM. Reason: change vid
Heavy_GD is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 02-05-2014, 08:17 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well that looks very simple to check. I bet mine need grease.
gbalaz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome