Front Seals loose - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-22-2011, 10:42 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Front Seals loose

Took a peak under my truck today and found this. Its an 09 F-350 4x4. I dont believe this to be normal. I'm no 4x4 expert, but they just seem to be a dust seal of some sort. Diff fluid seems to be normal level and I have noticed no leaks.

What are these seals called? Any idea how this happened? Would my warranty cover this?

Thanks for the help!

Passenger side


Drivers Side

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-22-2011, 10:53 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 30
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Both mine are like that too. I think its a common problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-23-2011, 05:51 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 79
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My is the same way. It has been a common problem.
Ford has an updated seal P/N AC3Z 1S175 A
The updated seal cost about $20.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-23-2011, 06:17 PM
Powerstroke Techie

 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Saint Cloud, WI
Posts: 4,455
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you are under warranty then you can take it in and get them changed for free. Otherwise it won't hurt anything if you don't change them out right away. You will also need the vacuum seal which is a fairly pricey seal plus a special driver to install the vacuum seal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-16-2011, 07:12 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Exact same thing on mine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-17-2011, 11:23 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 50
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Took it in last week to the dealer, they replaced seals under warranty.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-20-2011, 04:05 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cedar Park
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
There was a posting sometime back...about these seals....If under warranty....they will be replace. I had this happen...outside of the warranty peroid. I cleaned the area and the seal with brake cleaner....use a clear ...Loctite adhesive.......applied it to the area on the axel....used tape to hold it in place for a few day....removed tape...problem solved.....traded the truck with 135K miles
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-26-2012, 03:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 267
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Had a grinding noise today followed by a thud. After the thud, the grinding was gone. Did the same thing about 1/2 hour later. Climbed under and noticed my dust seals are the same as those above. Could that be causing the grinding?


Sent from my Autoguide iPhone app
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-19-2012, 10:18 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine is the same way on the driver side. I noticed an above post saying that the vacuum seal would need to be replaced as well and was wondering if this seal could be affecting my auto lock hubs they do not engage?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-27-2012, 10:33 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Beautiful BC
Posts: 534
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No the dust seal will not effect the vacuum operating auto lock hubs. The reason the vacuum seal in the hub needs to be changed is that it is damaged when you remove it to get the axle out to replace the dust seal.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors