Front hubs/4x4 Dont work while in "auto" ?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-02-2011, 02:13 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 75
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Front hubs/4x4 Dont work while in "auto" ??

Hi there,
Big snow up here in KS over the last few days...big.

Switched the "dial on the dash" to 4HI and the light came on BUT no front drive.

Pulled the hub covers off the moto metal wheels and the selector switch was in "auto"...so, I switched it to "lock" and it worked.


When I swith the "dial on the dash" back to 2wd, it does indead deselect the front wheels and works fine when I switch it back to 4hi.

However, why is my "auto" not working on the hub?
Is it okay to leave it in "lock"?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-03-2011, 06:49 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 53
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You dont want to leave it in lock all the time if you dont have to. Check your climate control in your truck. Is it stuck on defrost and not able to switch to anything else. IF so your vaccuum pump is gone. It affects your auto hubs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-05-2011, 08:16 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 607
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I had the same issue, ford replaced the 4x4 vacuum Solenoid.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-05-2011, 08:33 AM
Don't you worry about it

 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,719
Thanks: 2
Thanked 63 Times in 56 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine 08 does the same thing but only sometimes. I took it to the dealership thinking it was vacuum related but they said the checked everything twice and it was all ok.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-07-2011, 10:55 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 95
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Check the rubber lines going to the hubs. You may have a crack in one of hoses which is not letting the pump pull the vacuum. Hopefully it is something that simple.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors