Limited slip not working on truck? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-22-2010, 12:05 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 97
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Limited slip not working on truck?

Have a 2010 6.4 with around 6k miles and it won't always spin both wheels like it did when new. I don't do it that often but it always would lite em both up and now it won't always do both and usually does right wheel only. 1 wheel peel FTL!!! Is my limited slip broke? Any ideas? Running H&S on hot.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-23-2010, 10:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: olive branch ms
Posts: 1,152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
subscribing my truck does the say thing
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-23-2010, 10:32 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 1,344
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The factory limited slip is not very good! The best thing to do would be to change it out for a Detroit Trutrac.

If it is still under warranty then I would take the truck in and complain about it not working, the clutches in it wear out quickly and they are set up pretty loose from the factory to start with.

Mine has been shot for along time and I'm not going to put any money into rebuilding the stock one, I am going to put in a Trutrac!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-23-2010, 10:35 AM
Banned

 

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Bryan/College Station/Tyler, TEXAS
Posts: 26,351
Thanks: 6
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
the limited slip doesnt always guarantee both wheels spinning.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-23-2010, 10:53 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 390
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Can you put a Trutrac in the rear without changing the front?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-23-2010, 11:05 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 1,344
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by gary2070 View Post
Can you put a Trutrac in the rear without changing the front?
Yes, It's only when you change the ring and pinion gear ratios that you have to do front and rear together.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-11-2010, 11:02 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thumbs up

I could get stuck on wet grass with mine too. Put in a True Trac and never looked back. I do not think the thing ever worked when new. Asked my dealer and they tried to explain to me how it worked, I just laughed and left.

Opened the TracLok and the clutches were wasted with less than 10k on the truck, just tossed that POS in the garbage. Total waste of money optioning for it when the truck was built.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-11-2010, 11:22 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Glen burnie
Posts: 55
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not sure if they make one for this application but I have been running an Aussie locker in my 85 toy crawler with an ox cable locker in the front. Love both of them and the Aussie has been in for about 8000 miles of pretty nasty conditions. No problems yet.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-20-2011, 06:33 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Butler,Pa. USA
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
1 Wheel Peel

Throw the factory unit in the garbage and invest in a true trac! Took my in for repair 1 time under warranty and its gone again 6 months later!!!!!!! Mine went out when it was 6 months old!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-01-2011, 07:38 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: San antonio TX
Posts: 1,271
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hell if its still under warranty have the dealer repair it. Invest in a true trac later. Mine wont spin both on a gravel road but its an 08 with 85K. Since we are talking about it does the 5/100k drivetrain warranty cover this? Has anyone had any luck getting to work better by adding different oil or is there some sort of adjustment that can be made?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors