Auto Hubs to Manual - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-05-2010, 06:03 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Tobacco MD
Posts: 544
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Auto Hubs to Manual

For decades I have had Manual front hubs, no wI have picked up a F450 KR with Auto Hubs a dn an electric shift Transfer case. Can these hubs be switched out for Manual units???? and if so what is involved???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-06-2010, 04:46 AM
Powerstroke.org Sponsor

 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hillsborough, NC
Posts: 1,011
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't know if they make manual hubs for the 08's yet, but you can always manually lock the hubs. The hubs have auto and manual lock settings.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-06-2010, 05:09 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Texas
Posts: 1,117
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My truck has manual hubs with a floor shift transfer case. If you bought the manual hubs they should bolt right in, but I don't know about the vacuum shift. The auto's work off a vacuum line, you could just disconnect it, but that might mess up the indicator light.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-07-2010, 08:52 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 282
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by mor4wd View Post
My truck has manual hubs with a floor shift transfer case. If you bought the manual hubs they should bolt right in, but I don't know about the vacuum shift. The auto's work off a vacuum line, you could just disconnect it, but that might mess up the indicator light.
What he said. Ford factory manuel hubs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-07-2010, 12:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 229
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Unless you are going to change the transfer case I don't see the point. If you disconnect the vacuum lines you will have strictly manual hubs, and it won't mess with the indicator light. Unfotunately I found out the hard way, that the hubs did not lock, it sucked. If I am going off road I now always lock the hubs at the wheel.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-08-2010, 11:26 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 1,347
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by First_Ford View Post
Unless you are going to change the transfer case I don't see the point. If you disconnect the vacuum lines you will have strictly manual hubs, and it won't mess with the indicator light.
You can lock the hubs manually, but if you disconnect the vacuum lines or if your hubs have a vacuum leak then they won't unlock when you go back to 2wd. The autohubs must have a vacuum pulse to unlock.

I found this out when one of my hub seals went bad.

And the only aftermarket locking hub setup for the 2005 and newer superdutys is the complete dynatrac system which is around $2k. http://www.dynatrac.com/products_freespin_ford.html
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-13-2010, 06:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Tobacco MD
Posts: 544
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I guess I need to elaborate a bit. Not real happy withthe performance of "auto hubs" I have seen and driven too many rigs where the hubs do not unlock as advertised. I do not mind stepping out to lock or un lock the hubs, I was wondering if the factory Ford Auto hubs could be swapped with the factory Manual hubs without grossly affecting the system. Looks like the only issue is a vacuum line that will need to be plugged.

Thanks for all you input.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-13-2010, 06:28 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Texas
Posts: 1,117
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
They should be a direct swap between auto or manual, but I really don't know if it would be any different than just using the auto hubs in a manual mode.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-13-2010, 06:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Barnwell/Bluffton, SC
Posts: 5,268
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to southern7.3
^^^^^ This is why I love my manual hubs and manual t-case
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-13-2010, 06:32 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: South Texas
Posts: 1,117
Thanks: 1
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
+1 on that. Never a question as to whether your in 4wd or not.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors