Cost to replace the FICM? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-2009, 09:28 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 214
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cost to replace the FICM?

I had my "05 F250 towed to the shop last night because it wouldn't start. It's got 130k miles, so I have no warranty. They called me this morning saying they think its the FICM. He said they can't flash the replacement FICM there, so the truck has to be towed to a dealership first. When it's all said and done, I'm looking at a bill of $1,320. Does that sound right to anyone?

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-06-2009, 09:30 AM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,239
Thanks: 3
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
talk to eric at innovative, meybe he has a lead on a new one for you for less... no guarantees...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-06-2009, 09:32 AM
Super Moderator

 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13,268
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
The FICM from ford is around 800-900 just for the part.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-06-2009, 09:44 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toms River, NJ
Posts: 3,720
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to 03f250stroke
the labor of changing the old for the new is about 20 mins. dont let them try to get you like that on ohh its a lot of work or anything.

i see them for sale sometimes, but maybe if you just buy the part from them and replace it yourself you could save a bunch of money
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-06-2009, 10:55 AM
Slacker



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 17,117
Thanks: 13
Thanked 46 Times in 36 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 03f250stroke View Post
the labor of changing the old for the new is about 20 mins. dont let them try to get you like that on ohh its a lot of work or anything.

i see them for sale sometimes, but maybe if you just buy the part from them and replace it yourself you could save a bunch of money
It has to be flashed by the dealership to match your PCM code. If it already matches; you're golden!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-09-2009, 09:24 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Earth
Posts: 214
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The shop called me this morning to tell me my truck is ready. The total came to $1,475. Does that seem a little high to anyone? I know the new FICM cost the shop $845, so where does the extra $630 come from? Guess I'll find out when I pick up the truck later today.

Before this happened to me I had no idea how common it is to replace the FICM in the 6.0's. Why is that? Is there anything I can do, or not do to keep this from happening again? I'm seriously considering selling the truck after this. It's been without a doubt the worst vehicle I've owned. I've had it just over a year, and have already put close to $4,000 into it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-09-2009, 09:26 AM
Super Moderator

 

Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 13,268
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Thats about what I paid. You had the price of the part, price of labor, and price of programming it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-09-2009, 10:55 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,115
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
cost + rape
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-09-2009, 11:00 AM
ADMIN AND TECH


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: winston salem north carolina
Posts: 9,242
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
sounds like the labor might be a little high , depending on rate , they probably charged for diag , plus replacement , plus programmable module installation
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors