Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Help with 2007 6.0 issue please

3K views 33 replies 4 participants last post by  sjsche 
#1 ·
Hey guys, So i have a 2007 6.0 f550 work truck. I am a mechanic but i am mostly a cummins guy but lately trying to learn the powerstrokes. First got the truck and it had been sitting for a while, had a misfire on 1 and 8. Put two new injectors in and misfire on 1 went away 8 was still there with some white smoke. Cylinder contribution test shows its missing and all the others are not. I put another new ford injector in and still missing. compression is about 370 when cold, valve train looked ok when valve cover was off. Pulled a FICM off another same truck we have here and same problem. So guys what else am i missing here? i would think if i had an oil leak it would effect more than one cylinder but idk. thanks for any help guys.

#2 ·
Also the only code is a p0284 cylinder 8 contribution fault. No check engine light on just that code keeps coming back. Only other thing i can think of would be the pigtail going to that injector? is that common on these? anybody have a pinout test diagram?

#3 ·
Did you recheck your connector? #8 is driver side back of the motor. Check the pins?

Also check all connectors on the back of the FICM to ensure they are seated fully

#4 ·
I have checked the connector and it looked clean and seated fully also i have checked the connectors on FICM and all were completely clicked on and look clean too. Misfire is only at an idle i believe because cylinder contribution numbers come up from -60 to -80 to 0 when I accelerate. maybe thats normal though?

#5 ·
you will see some negative numbers usually acrossed all 8 when you go off idle from what i have noticed. What doesnt make sense to me is that its a new injector so stiction shouldnt be an issue. when you had the stand pipes out did you notice what color the o rings were?

#6 ·