Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

I don't even know what kind of problem this is

867 views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  Throttle_monkey1 
#1 · (Edited)
Hey guys, I'm a noob on this forum but I thought I'd join up to see if you guys can figure this one out.

I've got an 06 F350 and it needs head gaskets and glow plug number 3 is toast and injector #4 kinda acts weird. Anyways I took it to this shop last night just to do a pressure test on the cooling system and it reached 17 psi, and the delta between ECT & EOT was 12-15 degrees with a max oil temp of 206 and coolant being 191 so I'm gonna have him replace the oil cooler while he's doing the other work.

Anyways, after we did these hard pulls with the truck my gas pedal has totally changed. It's like now 3/4 throttle happens with just one inch of pedal movement. I immediately took my SCT tuner and returned the truck to stock (was running performance tune). The gas pedal thing is still there and it feels way more powerful than stock. I don't know if it did go back to stock settings or if the pedal just makes it feel faster. It will also throw a huge black cloud of soot even on stock settings if I mash the pedal. It never used to do this.

When returning it to stock the SCT tuner said that everything went as it should and there were no errors. It's almost like idle to WOT happens in about 1.5 inches of pedal travel.

See less See more
#4 ·
Keep in mind there is no cable any more from the pedal to the throttle.
Only a sensor and wires [fly by wire] however there is a return spring on the pedal this sometimes gets streached and looses some tension. Causeing a lazy weak pedal.

The app sensor is a small plastic box attached to the pedal and has 3 potentiometers in a redundant array. Any 2 have to agree or the PCM sees this as a fault.

The box is not waterproof and a windshield leak can land right on top of the box.
03 and 04 were bad for that leak.