2006 no crank no start - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-09-2014, 06:43 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
2006 no crank no start

i was jumping starting a buddies car and my truck just randomly shut off now it wont crank,

truck is pretty much stock has intake egr delete and exhaust, NO programmer

-ive checked all the fuses and there all good, also batteries are good
-also tried to pull the codes and it wont read the codes, comes up saying that it couldnt make a connection
- with the key on and in park it says check gauges, has abs light and wrench on
- when i switch it to neutral abs and wrench stay on but it says tbc failure now
- after i turn the key off it displays (-------) that instead of the mileage
- ficm is good
- i pulled the wire on the passenger side for the starter and connected it to the battery and it cranks that way


what else can i check? im lost and cant find anything to help me out, ive searched and havent came up with much

also recently had the code for the transmission range sensor come up but after i cleared the code hadnt had any problem with that since, drove for about two weeks after that came up, could that be the problem?

thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-09-2014, 06:45 AM
American and Proud


 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 3,992
Thanks: 119
Thanked 82 Times in 78 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
pull the connector on the ICP on the valve cover and see if it will start, it sounds like you have a bad Snap to Connect fitting on the high pressure oil pump
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-09-2014, 06:55 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
wont get a chance to work on the truck again until monday afternoon but ill try that.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-09-2014, 06:57 AM
American and Proud


 

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 3,992
Thanks: 119
Thanked 82 Times in 78 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
do you have a monitor on it at all? if you can watch what your IPR percentage is it is a good way to see if it is in your HPOP system as well
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-09-2014, 07:02 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
i have a scangauge on it, but it says it wont connect, which is also why i cant check for codes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-09-2014, 07:16 AM
information regurgitator
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Epping, NH
Posts: 5,922
Thanks: 18
Thanked 180 Times in 167 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sounds like a fried computer to me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-09-2014, 07:39 AM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oakbank, Manitoba
Posts: 3,036
Thanks: 6
Thanked 83 Times in 77 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Sounds like a fried computer to me.


Or perhaps a PCM fuse. Jump starting a vehicle improperly can definitely kill a PCM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-09-2014, 08:56 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
anyway to check the pcm?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-09-2014, 11:40 AM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oakbank, Manitoba
Posts: 3,036
Thanks: 6
Thanked 83 Times in 77 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Since you are now getting no communication, you have to ensure it has power to it. If you have power to the unit and no comms, a quick swap-out with a working one would be in order.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-09-2014, 03:23 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
When swapping the pcm does it need to be from the same exact year truck? And there's no programming or anything ford needs to do to get it to start is there?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors