Just bought my first Powerstroke, came with CEL and ABS lights lit. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-17-2014, 11:44 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Just bought my first Powerstroke, came with CEL and ABS lights lit.

Hi everyone, First time powerstroke owner here. I bought a 2007 F250 with the 6.0PS and the Check Engine Light and ABS Lights are on.

There is also some sort of performance device, but I have no idea what it is called and was hoping you guys could help me out. There is a switch on the dash (ON/OFF) that seems to be wired to a solenoid on or near the turbo. When its turned on the powerband for the truck is very different. I think it may have been made by BullyDog, but couldnt find anything like it on their website. Any ideas?

CEL Code is a "Turbo Underboost"

ABS light?

Any help is appreciated.
Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-17-2014, 11:52 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8,269
Thanks: 69
Thanked 195 Times in 186 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
? maybe just a switch for the VGT motor ? is there anykind of module ?

do you have a working speedometer if so the abs is probably one of the two front wheel sensor those are replaceable if need be
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-17-2014, 01:39 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No module that I can see.

Speedo works fine, so it must be the front wheel sensor?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-17-2014, 01:49 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Washington, PA
Posts: 582
Thanks: 15
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Does truck pull right or left when u hit the brakes. ABS could be speed sensor on rear axle housing also.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-17-2014, 01:50 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 133
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Is it a smoke switch? Is the wire clipped into the one of the two wires that connect to the turbo?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-17-2014, 02:06 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I just looked up what a smoke switch was and this seems to be it. Now I just need to figure out how to undo it. Could this be the P0299 Code as well?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-18-2014, 12:29 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Wouldnt the vehicle speed sensor affect the speedo?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-18-2014, 12:43 PM
information regurgitator
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: NYC
Posts: 5,915
Thanks: 18
Thanked 180 Times in 167 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by cb750 View Post
I just looked up what a smoke switch was and this seems to be it. Now I just need to figure out how to undo it. Could this be the P0299 Code as well?
Yes, using a "smoke switch" would throw that code. That is the Turbo underboost code..which is exactly what condition that switch gives to get the smoke..

Quote:
Originally Posted by cb750 View Post
Wouldn't the vehicle speed sensor affect the speedo?
When that goes, yes, you usually get a case of the bouncing speedometer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-19-2014, 05:49 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 133
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
You should be able to just clear that code. As long as you don't flip that switch you shouldn't get the code again. -Mike
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-20-2014, 09:50 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: so cal
Posts: 195
Thanks: 9
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You can remove the switch, and hook the 2 wires together and tuck em behind the dash if u don't want the switch anymore, then then ull have a hole in the dash.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors