Top of throttle pedal, no response - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-23-2008, 12:32 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Scottsdale
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Top of throttle pedal, no response

I have had an intermittent problem with my 06 f-350 6.0 lately. When I gently press on the accelerator pedal the first inch or so of the stroke of the pedal does nothing. Then after that it's like it catches up and accelerates like it should. But there is not a just off of idle pedal it's either idle or 1200 rpm or so. It has also died right after a start then started the second time with no problem. This seems to be getting progressively worse and worse. I have changed the fuel filters and it didn't help.

Any help would be appreciated
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-23-2008, 12:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 386
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
could be a bad tps
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-24-2008, 05:34 AM
Serving Our Country!
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Poulsbo, WA
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I know on the Harley trucks the pedal is Fly by Wire. My buddies truck did the same thing yours is doing and it turned out that the rheostat that matches what the pedal is doing was sticking. It was an easy fix but Ford had to do it.

Hope that helps...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-24-2008, 06:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,287
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yup sounds like your TPS has a bad spot in it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-24-2008, 08:13 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Scottsdale
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ardi villiard View Post
I know on the Harley trucks the pedal is Fly by Wire. My buddies truck did the same thing yours is doing and it turned out that the rheostat that matches what the pedal is doing was sticking. It was an easy fix but Ford had to do it.

Hope that helps...
It is a Harley truck or used to be anyway. All the emblems are gone and the intieror was stripped. But if what you say is true it will have the fly by wire pedal. Do you know what they replaced? Why did the dealer have to do it? I would think that the rheostat in the pedal would be bad but I'm just guessing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-24-2008, 08:19 AM
Rob Rob is offline
Super Moderator


 

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Layton, Utah
Posts: 13,239
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rob Send a message via MSN to Rob Send a message via Skype™ to Rob
all the trucks are " drive by wire" you have a throttle position sensor ( tps sensor ) in the pedal that sends the position of the pedal to the computer, which in turn schedules and delivers fuel requirements based on pedal location. sounds like you have a bad tps sensor, that should be looked at and replaced.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors