Oil cooler problem - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-02-2013, 12:03 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Oil cooler problem

I'm pretty sure my oil cooler is compromised, my temps usually differ around 20-35 degrees when traveling down the highway at 70-75 mph, what I'm worried about is my head gaskets blowing, I have an egr delete so would tha stop my head gaskets from giving up?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-02-2013, 07:19 PM
Premium Member

 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oakbank, Manitoba
Posts: 2,831
Thanks: 6
Thanked 71 Times in 65 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Possibly. However, if your oil continues to run too hot, it will breakdown earlier than normal and lead to other failures. At some point the oil cooler itself may fail due to thermal difference or corrosion.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-03-2013, 01:30 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well the truck already runs rough until it reaches about 140-150 degrees, I'm sure it has plenty of problems
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-03-2013, 01:34 AM
RollinEarly05...now


 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Klamath Falls
Posts: 3,292
Thanks: 26
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
I would worry about the oil cooler rupturing and the oil contaminating the cooling system. Coolant hoses don't do very well when oil is run thru them. Plus the OEM water pump has plastic impellers and usually warp or break from they ing to pump a mixture of coolant and oil. As far as your rough running issue... What is your FICM KOEO and running while cold? Have you tried Archoil or RevX? Might be stiction in the injectors as well....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-03-2013, 04:20 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well I changed my oil last night, it didn't show any discoloration that I could tell, I have a coolant filter on the way, I tried rev-x before so maybe it's my ficm, which I plan on changing that and the oil cooler soon and flushing the entire system of the ford gold
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-03-2013, 11:22 AM
RollinEarly05...now


 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Klamath Falls
Posts: 3,292
Thanks: 26
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Why not get a monitor to verify all your problems… torque app for android phone can be had for under $10 and a cheap Bluetooth/OBDll reader for under $20 would work if your on a limited budget. Since this option exist… the only reason not to have a monitor on your 6.0 is because you don't have a smart phone. Either that or your ignorant just kidding
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-03-2013, 11:24 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have an Edge CTS and SCT X3, so I know what the readings are unless there is something those don't pick up
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-03-2013, 11:31 AM
RollinEarly05...now


 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Klamath Falls
Posts: 3,292
Thanks: 26
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsutigerfanforlife View Post
so maybe it's my ficm
Because you said this I thought you didn't have a monitor… if your FICM volts are below 46v koeo and running cold theN it's your FICM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-03-2013, 11:33 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't have a scan gauge to monitor the volts, I would have to check it with a bolt meter on the screws
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-03-2013, 11:37 AM
RollinEarly05...now


 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Klamath Falls
Posts: 3,292
Thanks: 26
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Umm… the edge CTS monitors FICM volts!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors