Severe voltage drain, suspect GPCM - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2013, 08:15 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Severe voltage drain, suspect GPCM

Hi, 2004 S.D. 6.0; 129k mi. Replaced alt, starter, batts aren't a year old. FICM is 48v. Would like to know... if I start it, then unplug the GPCM connectors, will it hurt anything? The connector kit from the dealer is $200... that I just don't have right now. I need to isolate the voltage drain source. I'm not a mechanic, but need to fix my truck. Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-07-2013, 08:45 PM
Mod Newbie

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Is it killing it over night?
Old 10-07-2013, 08:48 PM
Premium Member

It's killing it in a couple hours! My thought is to get it running (both batteries are disconnected and charging now) , at night, with the headlights on, then to unplug the GPCM, and see if the headlights get brighter when the GPCM is unplugged... but I don't want to hurt any other electronics while doing this. If it only affects the GPCM, then, I don't think it will.... but, I don't know these things like you guys do.

Last edited by stingray615; 10-07-2013 at 08:54 PM.
Old 10-07-2013, 08:52 PM
Mod Newbie

Just charge your batteries fully then unplug the module and let it sit for a couple-3 hours. Plug them back in and see if it starts. I worked on an 06 that would kill the batteries over night. (I wasn't working on it for that reason). I didn't know how to check the module but the owners Father was an electrical engineer and figured it out. Installed new module and all is good.
Old 10-07-2013, 09:01 PM
Premium Member