Severe voltage drain, suspect GPCM - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 Old 10-07-2013, 08:15 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
stingray615's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Salida
Posts: 70
Thanks: 14
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Severe voltage drain, suspect GPCM

Hi, 2004 S.D. 6.0; 129k mi. Replaced alt, starter, batts aren't a year old. FICM is 48v. Would like to know... if I start it, then unplug the GPCM connectors, will it hurt anything? The connector kit from the dealer is $200... that I just don't have right now. I need to isolate the voltage drain source. I'm not a mechanic, but need to fix my truck. Thanks in advance!

Lets see.. if I replace: the EGR cooler, the oil cooler, the heads, the head gaskets, the head bolts, the coolant filtering system, the injectors, the turbo, the alternator, the FICM, the GPCM... THEN... will I have a DEPENDABLE truck??
stingray615 is offline  
post #2 of 24 Old 10-07-2013, 08:45 PM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,156
Thanks: 6
Thanked 142 Times in 134 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Is it killing it over night?

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 10-07-2013, 08:48 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
stingray615's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Salida
Posts: 70
Thanks: 14
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It's killing it in a couple hours! My thought is to get it running (both batteries are disconnected and charging now) , at night, with the headlights on, then to unplug the GPCM, and see if the headlights get brighter when the GPCM is unplugged... but I don't want to hurt any other electronics while doing this. If it only affects the GPCM, then, I don't think it will.... but, I don't know these things like you guys do.

Lets see.. if I replace: the EGR cooler, the oil cooler, the heads, the head gaskets, the head bolts, the coolant filtering system, the injectors, the turbo, the alternator, the FICM, the GPCM... THEN... will I have a DEPENDABLE truck??

Last edited by stingray615; 10-07-2013 at 08:54 PM.
stingray615 is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 10-07-2013, 08:52 PM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,156
Thanks: 6
Thanked 142 Times in 134 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Just charge your batteries fully then unplug the module and let it sit for a couple-3 hours. Plug them back in and see if it starts. I worked on an 06 that would kill the batteries over night. (I wasn't working on it for that reason). I didn't know how to check the module but the owners Father was an electrical engineer and figured it out. Installed new module and all is good.

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 10-07-2013, 09:01 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
stingray615's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Salida
Posts: 70
Thanks: 14
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah, I'm kinda leanin towards a new module. They're unplugged now. I'll try that tomorrow. New module is less than $200, I think. Thank you for the quick response, have a great week, will let you know what the problem was!

Lets see.. if I replace: the EGR cooler, the oil cooler, the heads, the head gaskets, the head bolts, the coolant filtering system, the injectors, the turbo, the alternator, the FICM, the GPCM... THEN... will I have a DEPENDABLE truck??
stingray615 is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 10-08-2013, 01:38 AM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,156
Thanks: 6
Thanked 142 Times in 134 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by stingray615 View Post
Yeah, I'm kinda leanin towards a new module. They're unplugged now. I'll try that tomorrow. New module is less than $200, I think. Thank you for the quick response, have a great week, will let you know what the problem was!
No problem. You do the same.

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 10-08-2013, 04:30 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
stingray615's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Salida
Posts: 70
Thanks: 14
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Okay. here's what I found today: When the GPCM is disconnected, the battery retains it's charge... and it'll start (spins over great) and run. I found a new one at a Ford Dealership in Ohio $30 cheaper than anywhere else... it ended up being @ $135 incl shipping. It pays to shop!

The drain is now narrowed down to the GPCM and the GPs themselves. The manual is detailed pretty nice, showing a pin-out, but it's not showing what the GPs are supposed to ohm out at when unplugged at the GPCM harness.. I'm guessing it'll be a low value, if anyone knows, please let me know, so I can test them while I'm waiting for the new module.

Hopefully a scan tool is in the near future so I can see what codes it's putting out. Looking at the AE SP03 because it can do these diagnostics, but at $359, it'll have to wait till next month. The Edge CTS looks good too, but costs more than the AE. Some advice here would be appreciated... thank you!

Lets see.. if I replace: the EGR cooler, the oil cooler, the heads, the head gaskets, the head bolts, the coolant filtering system, the injectors, the turbo, the alternator, the FICM, the GPCM... THEN... will I have a DEPENDABLE truck??
stingray615 is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 10-08-2013, 05:07 PM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,156
Thanks: 6
Thanked 142 Times in 134 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by stingray615 View Post
Okay. here's what I found today: When the GPCM is disconnected, the battery retains it's charge... and it'll start (spins over great) and run. I found a new one at a Ford Dealership in Ohio $30 cheaper than anywhere else... it ended up being @ $135 incl shipping. It pays to shop!

The drain is now narrowed down to the GPCM and the GPs themselves. The manual is detailed pretty nice, showing a pin-out, but it's not showing what the GPs are supposed to ohm out at when unplugged at the GPCM harness.. I'm guessing it'll be a low value, if anyone knows, please let me know, so I can test them while I'm waiting for the new module.

Hopefully a scan tool is in the near future so I can see what codes it's putting out. Looking at the AE SP03 because it can do these diagnostics, but at $359, it'll have to wait till next month. The Edge CTS looks good too, but costs more than the AE. Some advice here would be appreciated... thank you!
AE will pay for itself the first time you use it. They should test anywhere from .1 to 2 ohms.

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 10-08-2013, 05:49 PM
Powerstroke Techie


 
JUGERNAUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UPPER SALFORD PA
Posts: 2,042
Thanks: 81
Thanked 68 Times in 37 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
I DONT MEAN TO ALARM YOU BUT PLEASE TAKE MY ADVICE AND DO THIS SOON. Replace all your glow plugs anyways once you put new gpcm in and this is why. If the glow plugs where on for a 2 to 3 hour period and this went on for a couple of days they have become what we call glass they have changed metal state and become brittle meaning its only a matter of time before the break off and fod out a piston. Please change them!!


2001 to 2015 SENIOR MASTER TECHNICIAN
BEEN WITH FORD 27 YEARS:
PROUD NAVY VET= ANTI SUBMARINE WARFARE
A/C ASW A/W WINGS

2003 F250 AND I HATE IT. IT ROBS ME BEFORE I GET TO BANK!
JUGERNAUT is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 10-08-2013, 05:51 PM
Mod Newbie

 
dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,156
Thanks: 6
Thanked 142 Times in 134 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by JUGERNAUT View Post
I DONT MEAN TO ALARM YOU BUT PLEASE TAKE MY ADVICE AND DO THIS SOON. Replace all your glow plugs anyways once you put new gpcm in and this is why. If the glow plugs where on for a 2 to 3 hour period they have become what we call glass they have changed metal state and become brittle meaning its only a matter of time before the break off and fod out a piston. Please change them!!
I did not know they would do that. Nice info Dale

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome