Warm weather hard starting - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-25-2013, 02:41 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Warm weather hard starting

I am brand new to the diesel world so please bare with me. It is completely stock. Sometimes not all the time but sometimes when it is cold it takes extra cranks. It starts cranking really fast and seems to maintain decent cranking speed. But them it sounds super funny. Almost like a weak battery and then when it starts to start it kinda chugs then starts. Idles fine runs fine. Not sure where to start. The battery's were put in by previous owner on 12/12 but they are econo starts. Could it be batteries not producing enough cranking amps even though they are pretty new?
Any help would be great! Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-25-2013, 04:05 PM
Premium Member

First thing first have your batteries load tested, also check your FICM voltage, what year of truck is it? Also moniter ICP while cranking if it takes forever to build 600 Psi than it's probably a high pressure oil leak.
Old 09-25-2013, 05:03 PM

Truck is an 06 with 95k on it. How would I check the ficm?
Old 09-25-2013, 05:25 PM
Premium Member