Over heating then eventually white smoke please help!!!!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2013, 07:19 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to fathead1107
Over heating then eventually white smoke please help!!!!!

I was driving my fan got louder then eventually my rig started over heating I thought it was my thermostat. I was delivering it home then white smoke started pouring out of my exsuast. There was no fluid leakage anywhere I cracked my radiator cap let off pressure and left it loose so it would not build up pressure. It drove fine after that. I made it home. I am in the army I use my truck to get to work it's essential I have it up and running ASAP please help. I need to kno what to to. I used to be a mechanic in the army I switched over to infantry. But I can work on my rig I just need a bit of help please help.

Last edited by fathead1107; 07-27-2013 at 07:33 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-28-2013, 06:44 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

The next morning

Ok I checked all my fluids this morning the only thing that is wrong is my coolant so I put some water in my truck. I started it it ran it was good, so now I am on a drive. There was a bit of white smoke at first but I guess it was coolant still burning off. I drove the truck no problems so far it's regulating temp just fine. I am pretty sure it's the egr valve I want to get a delete kit for it. Do I need to but a oil cooler for it or no? I read if the egr valve gose out then I need to replace the oil cooler. But why? Please help
Old 07-28-2013, 06:51 AM
Compression Ignition Addict