Fried PCM really ? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 05-15-2013, 04:24 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Fried PCM really ?

So I got my SCT live wire TS brought it to a local diesel performance shop for installation, I get a call 4 hours later saying my PCM already has a tune on it must've bought it that way, they tried to erase it and he said he couldn't connect to the PCM . I brought it to the dealership and he couldn't connect either. But my scangauge works properly and the tuner reads it enough to tell me to get rid of the tune present. My question is do I need a new PCM that is what has been suggested at this time.
lrgnugs is offline  
post #2 of 6 Old 05-15-2013, 08:56 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You need the tuner that tuned the truck to unlock the PCM, which sets it back to stock. I'm not truely sure that theres not another way. Just putting out my .02 out there. Maybe someone else will chime in.
powerstroken00b is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-15-2013, 07:38 PM
Bump To Pass!!




 
toren302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Monroe, WA
Posts: 10,519
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 805 Post(s)
Thanks: 114
Thanked 844 Times in 754 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Ford can force reflash the computer I forgot what it is called, but it is possible.



toren302 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-15-2013, 07:52 PM
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
 
ZMANN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14,516
Mentioned: 52 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 554 Post(s)
Thanks: 502
Thanked 696 Times in 663 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ford should Be able to do this
I would try another dealer

.
.
.
Please donate to DTR Ron's Memorial
https://www.gofundme.com/2464axqr
We Miss you Ronnie
RIP
ZMANN is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-15-2013, 08:03 PM
Bump To Pass!!




 
toren302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Monroe, WA
Posts: 10,519
Mentioned: 81 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 805 Post(s)
Thanks: 114
Thanked 844 Times in 754 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
The more I am thinking about this the more I think they want to sell you a PCM just to make more money. If all the gauges are working and the scangauge is reading and the truck is responding normally then the PCM just needs a reflash. I had to do this when I switched from my bully dog back to stock.

X2 on what ZMANN said find a diffrent dealer.



toren302 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-16-2013, 06:36 PM
Powerstroke Techie


 
JUGERNAUT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UPPER SALFORD PA
Posts: 2,042
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 81
Thanked 68 Times in 37 Posts
Feedback Score: 13 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by toren302 View Post
Ford can force reflash the computer I forgot what it is called, but it is possible.
100% correct! its called a P.M.I.


2001 to 2015 SENIOR MASTER TECHNICIAN
BEEN WITH FORD 27 YEARS:
PROUD NAVY VET= ANTI SUBMARINE WARFARE
A/C ASW A/W WINGS

2003 F250 AND I HATE IT. IT ROBS ME BEFORE I GET TO BANK!
JUGERNAUT is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome