Diagnostic Codes - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2013, 01:22 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Diagnostic Codes

I have recently purchased a Scangauge II to use with my 6.0 after the loss of 8 injectors. Well I'm just getting a hang of the device and I had a few questions on diagnostics. In order for codes to be transmitted must you have a check engine light that works? Mine doesn't really work and I would like to know if it is necessary. Another thing is what type of issues would it pick up (ie misfires etc).

And finally this is a little unrelated to the topic but what X-gauges should I customize? I already have FICM voltage, ICP, and Oil Temp.

Also I know I post alot but I'm new to a diesel and this is my first vehicle ever. (My dad brought it home for me, I wanted a 7.3 but we get discounts at that particular dealership and all they had at the time was a 6.0)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-14-2013, 05:30 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

A dealership sold you a vehicle with a malfunctioning check engine light...????

MikeB
Old 03-14-2013, 06:52 AM
Premium Member

"codes to be transmitted" ? Not sure what that means, so putting the post aside, here is a brief semi-detailed summary of a PCM/ECM and the logging and lighting, it does.