Speedometer not working on 06 F250 after cleaning engine - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 Old 03-09-2013, 03:54 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 22
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Speedometer not working on 06 F250 after cleaning engine

OK. Pressure washed my truck. Probably got a little carried away with the water. Long story short, ended up with about a dozen different codes and a truck that wouldn't start. Opened up all the connectors that I could find under the hood and used compressed air to dry them out. Used electrical grease to keep them water tight. Everything works great, but now my speedometer doesn't work. I've checked and cleaned the unit on the transmission. I also have an Edge CS and it doesn't show the speed either. I was getting a VSS error til I cleaned and dried the transmission unit. Now no errors and no speedo...
iHenry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 03-10-2013, 04:16 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: port arthur texas
Posts: 4,222
Thanks: 1
Thanked 66 Times in 62 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You may have blew a fuse


Lord I shall lead them to the water but I will not try to make them drink
dannyboy950 is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 03-10-2013, 03:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
06Lariat_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 321
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Check fuses and next time stay away from the electrical parts lol

06 Lariat SuperCab Long Bed

Leveling kit
Chrome bug deflector
Tri-Fold tonneau cover
4" MBRP turbo back straight pipe
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Smoked cab lights
Blue spring upgrade
Riff raff boots
Edge insight cts overhead mount


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
06Lariat_ is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 03-10-2013, 05:46 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 22
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Speedo problems

Any particular fuse? I can't find anything bad. Wondering if it is possible to have shorted the transmission unit out. Did find water in one connection and once I cleaned and dried it, everything started working again, except the speedo...
iHenry is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 03-14-2013, 08:06 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 22
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Bad ABS module

New update. Took my truck to the Ford dealership today and was told the following;

"Self Test P0500 in multiple modules. Checked rear axle speed sensor input to ABS module OK No output to other modules. Faulty ABS module."

Here's my question. If I get another ABS module, is this going to be a simple plug in operation? I found one off a truck of the same year, with all the same options. Can I just plug it in or does it have to be programmed?

BTW - This weekend, I'm going to take the electronic portion off and clean it with electronics cleaner, make sure it's dry and put it back together. Is that doesn't work, the plan is to order a replacement. $700 though Ford or a used one of $100.

iHenry is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 03-20-2013, 06:03 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 22
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Speedo update

OK. Purchased an ABS module from B and R Auto Wrecking on eBay and swapped the module on their unit for the one on mine. Got into my truck and turned the key to the on position. The ABS light immediately came on. Undeterred, I went for a short drive. My speedometer works, but the ABS dash light is on. My ABS did appear to work, but I don't know for sure tomorrow. I'll update again tomorrow.

If anyone has any clues about clearing the ABS code, I'm all ears. Other than that, this weekend, I'll try disconnecting the batteries over night...
iHenry is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 11-21-2016, 06:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Dante04SRT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: East Tennessee
Posts: 752
Thanks: 1
Thanked 29 Times in 5 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by iHenry View Post
OK. Purchased an ABS module from B and R Auto Wrecking on eBay and swapped the module on their unit for the one on mine. Got into my truck and turned the key to the on position. The ABS light immediately came on. Undeterred, I went for a short drive. My speedometer works, but the ABS dash light is on. My ABS did appear to work, but I don't know for sure tomorrow. I'll update again tomorrow.

If anyone has any clues about clearing the ABS code, I'm all ears. Other than that, this weekend, I'll try disconnecting the batteries over night...
Any resolution to this? How much was the ABS module?

-Brian

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

2005 F350 6.0 CC/SB Lariat 4x4
EGR Delete
ARP Studs
All updated Ford internals
Edge Insight CTS2
Swamp's 58V FICM
SCT X3
TGC 2.5" Level Kit
Zerex EC-1 ELC
08+ Step Tailgate
08+ All Power Mirrors (Factory Functions, too)
2011 Rear Bumper
B&W Turnover Ball
8oz Stanadyne Performance w/each fillup

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dante04SRT is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 11-25-2016, 11:17 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 22
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yes. I purchased a used unit and installed it. Everything worked except my speedometer.
I took it into Ford and they pulled information off the old unit and pushed it to the new one and everything worked great afterwards. I spoke to the tech and he said that sometimes they have to be programed and sometimes they don't. I believe that I purchased the used unit for around $200 and it was $75 for Ford to program it. Still half what they wanted for a new one, which still would have required programing.

Since then, I've purchased AutoEnginuity and I'm curious if it could program the new one, but I haven't really look into it.

4" Turbo back exhaust, EGR update, AFE dry filter system, Amsoil Oil bypass kit, High Idle Mod

Coming soon
Blue spring update.
iHenry is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 11-25-2016, 11:54 AM
,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
 
ZMANN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 17,292
Thanks: 824
Thanked 882 Times in 851 Posts
Mentioned: 106 Post(s)
Quoted: 1179 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A/E cant program the ABS module
Other than tire size

Dis you look at your old module to see if it was waterdamaged ?

.
.
.
Please donate to DTR Ron's Memorial

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

We Miss you Ronnie
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
ZMANN is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 12-02-2016, 11:43 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 22
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yes. I took apart the old unit out of curiosity. I didn't see any signs of water. Prior to taking it to Ford, I actually used a non-conducted cleaner dryer and compressed air to clean out the ABS unit.

Just one of those things I guess.
iHenry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Tags
speedometer problems

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome