Oil pressure gauge says Zero? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 Old 02-05-2013, 03:42 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Oil pressure gauge says Zero?

Have 2006 Ford Power stroke with 6.0 in it.. Just started doing this ... When Im driving the oil pressure gauge is fine and motor sound fine, but sometime when I come to a stop sign the oil gauge will drop all the way down to zero, the motor still runs fine and has plenty of oil in it. After I press on the fuel pedal to raise the RPMS just a couple the gauge goes back up. the odometer will all so blank out and it will flash "read gauges" when this occurs,, its driving me crazy and not sure where to start..
john510 is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 3 Old 02-05-2013, 04:08 PM
Mod Newbie

dhanna6powerstroke's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 13,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 6
Thanked 139 Times in 132 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Oil pressure sensor probably going south.

dhanna6powerstroke is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 02-06-2013, 10:14 PM
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That gauge is not really a gauge. It's a fake. An idiot light. Your factory sending unit is located right behind the oil filter housing, easier to remove the turbo oil line to access it. It's just an on/off switch that is tripped at 7 or 8 lbs if I recall correctly. Sending unit is probably going bad, they are not expensive. Check the condition of your harness while you're there.....make sure nothing is rubbed through. If you're really worried about the oil pressure...before you install the new sending unit, mount an oil pressure gauge into the hole and check it out. The thread size into where it mounts is 7/16th x 20 tpi, so you'll need an adapter. Relying on the dash gauge is pointless......it only responds to the sending unit measuring minimal pressure, and puts the needle in the 'normal' range. Good time to get yourself a real gauge installed, perhaps.
rdezs is offline  
Sponsored Links

6.0, ford, oil pressure, powerstroke

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome