What's wrong with my 6.0????? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 09:14 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What's wrong with my 6.0?????

Ok 1st, I'm a newbie to the site, lurked around a few times and with all the knowledge I've gained... more then I could ever imagine from all the wonderful folks here I'm more confused than ever.

I've read all kinds of horor stories about all kinds of troubles/problems that would/could/should scare the hell out of anyone who owns a 6.0.
The bullet proof, delete this and that etc. Holy Crap!!!

Anyway... here is my story and hopefully someone else has had a simular experiance...

I now own a 2004 E-350 extended van, STONE COLD STOCK... no mods... no nothing, stock as it came from Ford which I purchase from my company as it was my work van from day one. It has 230+K miles, I know all the history of the van and my biggest problem has been rear axle bearings, as I hauled over 10k GVW (found out my 350 had a 250 rear end/axle)... the engine had 1 problem under warranty and was 'fixed' at the dealer with a flash. Had another issue with wire chaffing from the steering wheel harness being too short as was told by the ford dealer.
This van WAS a daily driver unless sitting at an airport for a week or 2. But now with my new current Sprinter van (love&hate the sprinter)... my E-350 sits parked until I need it to pull our motorcycle trailer or to haul something, it is not uncommon for it to sit weeks/months w/o use.
When my work truck I would basically have the oil changed every 8-10k miles (mostly highway, interstate miles) and the fuel filters... but nothing more, no radiator flushes, transmission flushes etc. just diesel, oil and windshield wash fluid... this truck has never let me down!