Glow plug? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-30-2012, 09:59 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: surprise, az
Posts: 412
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Glow plug?

I put a hpop,stc,icp in my truck. Now all it does is crank over. NO FIRE AT ALL... Now it has 5 or 6 glow plug codes. They are only 3 years old and have a new gp relay. Does it need all the glow plugs to attempt to fire? I live in az so it's 60 degrees. Any help is appreciated. I can't afford the dealer and the diesel shop here is booked past jan 7th.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-30-2012, 11:58 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gulf Coast
Posts: 5,201
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Do you have a monitor, are you seeing smoke? It normally takes a bit of cranking to get the air out. You need to see 500psi on the icp to start. I don't think the glow plugs are an issue at that temp.

Sent from my phone that somebody didn't help me get.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-30-2012, 12:00 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gulf Coast
Posts: 5,201
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
What year is your truck? Why didn't you replace the dummy plugs and stand pipes while you were there? An oil cooler and screen would have been a good idea also if you were replacing hpop.

Sent from my phone that somebody didn't help me get.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-30-2012, 12:02 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: surprise, az
Posts: 412
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have a SCT and it is giving me all those glow plug codes and a p2614 I think.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-30-2012, 12:05 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: surprise, az
Posts: 412
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Truck is a 05. trying to fix only what was thought to be bad, on a very tight budget. The stand pipes & dplugs are new last year.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-30-2012, 12:13 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Gulf Coast
Posts: 5,201
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by jensenrcng View Post
Truck is a 05. trying to fix only what was thought to be bad, on a very tight budget. The stand pipes & dplugs are new last year.
I hear you, your sp and dp should be fine then. The other code is probably from excessive cranking. Can you read icp pressure? I suspect trah made it to your ipr, I would pull it and inspect for a hole in the screen.

Sent from my phone that somebody didn't help me get.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-30-2012, 12:15 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: port arthur texas
Posts: 3,705
Thanks: 0
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Check your camshaft sensor circuit, plug and the wireing. The code is for an intermittant signal, this is not allowing sync. No sync no start.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-30-2012, 12:15 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: surprise, az
Posts: 412
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It is a brand new IPR and screen.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-30-2012, 12:16 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 8,287
Thanks: 69
Thanked 199 Times in 189 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yes all glow plugs ignite

did u hit AZPSG and see if someone can scan u with the A/E?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-30-2012, 12:17 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: surprise, az
Posts: 412
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How do I check the circuit? I can fix things but electrical I'm not so good at.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors