No oil pressure at idle??? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 Old 05-02-2012, 11:30 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
TheFordman87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,686
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No oil pressure at idle???

Just as the title says. I have no oil pressure at idle. But if I speed the truck up to around 1k rpm it has normal oil pressure. If the truck sits for a minute it takes a min to start when it does it will run for a second and cut off. But when it starts if I give it a little throttle it will stay running and then run fine but I still don't have oil pressure when it idles all the way down. Now after I shut the truck off if I start it right back up it will stay running without me having to give it any throttle... So what do you guys think it could be? I'm taking it back to the dealership tomorrow where I just had arp studs put in and new oem HG. But I would like to know what you guys think. Thanks

Austin

I'm addicted to diesel and I step on it constantly!

TheFordman87 is offline  
post #2 of 30 Old 05-03-2012, 12:08 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: port arthur texas
Posts: 4,222
Thanks: 1
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You probably have a weak low pressure pump or regulator altho fords dash gauge is not agood indicator since it only takes 7 psi for the gauge to show full pressure.


Lord I shall lead them to the water but I will not try to make them drink
dannyboy950 is offline  
post #3 of 30 Old 05-03-2012, 12:42 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
TheFordman87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,686
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well I was thinking the low pressure oil pump was bad myself. But I was also thinking something else is causing a restriction not letting it get normal oil pressure. Anything special you can think of that it could be causing it...?

I'm addicted to diesel and I step on it constantly!

TheFordman87 is offline  
post #4 of 30 Old 05-03-2012, 04:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
M90Ranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 205
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Unless it's an 03 or early 04 , put an oil sending unit in it.
They do that sometimes
M90Ranger is offline  
post #5 of 30 Old 05-03-2012, 06:09 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: port arthur texas
Posts: 4,222
Thanks: 1
Thanked 62 Times in 58 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
There is a situation that can happen when a person switches to an after market filter and cap (such as a Wix) which is a longer filter and comes with its own cap. The next oil change they go back to a motorcraft and use the same cap cause they had threw the other away.

The cap holds the filter down and keeps the drain valve closed normally. Since the aftermarket cap is taller it no longer holds the filter in place and it can float up allowing part of the oil in the houseing to dain off to the pan, reduceing oil flow and pressure.

The same thing can happen if the plastic button (filter bypass valve) comes out of the plastic center pipe or the pipe breaks same thing.


Lord I shall lead them to the water but I will not try to make them drink
dannyboy950 is offline  
post #6 of 30 Old 05-03-2012, 06:53 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
TheFordman87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1,686
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well they put a new sending unit in today and that didn't fix it. But the truck has never had anything motorcraft everything in it. All of the work is being done by bartow Ford. They said they are going to check some check valve inside the motor cuz they think its sticky and restricting flow so at idle the pump can't keep up. And if that's not it they will put a new oil pump in it. But I don't care as long as they fix it. But best of all its on their dime cuz its all warranty work. Plus they always give me a free rental. I'm driving a 2012 f150 with the 302 in it. Crew cab 4x4 cuz I always tell them I bought a big truck to pull my boat and cuz I don't like cars so don't try and put me in one. lol

Sent from my PC36100 using AutoGuide.com App

I'm addicted to diesel and I step on it constantly!

TheFordman87 is offline  
post #7 of 30 Old 05-03-2012, 09:40 AM
Mob boss

 
Jarrod B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 26,951
Thanks: 25
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
tagged to read later.

2006 Ford F250 CCSB FX4 6.0

Sold
1997 F350 CCLB 2WD 7.3
1999 F350 CCLB 4WD 7.3
2003 F350 CCLB FX4 6.0





LSP Chapter Director

LSP Group Threads
http://www.powerstroke.org/forum/lon...-powerstrokes/
Jarrod B is offline  
post #8 of 30 Old 05-03-2012, 11:08 AM
Mob boss

 
Jarrod B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 26,951
Thanks: 25
Thanked 27 Times in 25 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Well I was gonna say the ones posted above were what I was thinking but idk now. Let us know what ferd says.


iPhone

2006 Ford F250 CCSB FX4 6.0

Sold
1997 F350 CCLB 2WD 7.3
1999 F350 CCLB 4WD 7.3
2003 F350 CCLB FX4 6.0





LSP Chapter Director

LSP Group Threads
http://www.powerstroke.org/forum/lon...-powerstrokes/
Jarrod B is offline  
post #9 of 30 Old 05-03-2012, 11:19 AM
Premium Member



 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 20,189
Thanks: 116
Thanked 178 Times in 168 Posts
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Quoted: 244 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
uhhhhhhh.....my totally serious answer to this is...

Im thinking oil pump or something is clogging the passage ways when they did your HG install... They obviously touched the oil supply system while doing that work




Just gonna throw this out their and people can yell at me that this is not the answer lol....


Here goes... have you tried looking at the screen on the IPR valve going into the HPOP???

2005 F250 King Ranch Work Truck.

Studded and Deleted
175/30% Injectors from WARREN DIESEL!!
Barder Stage 2 Turbo
Warren Comp Tranny w/ PI TC
Six0~Stroker is offline  
post #10 of 30 Old 05-03-2012, 04:54 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine just started the EXACT same thing. Rode home fine. Went to start warm, and extra extra long crank. I noticed the "check gauge" light on, and no oil pressure. Heading to the shop tomorrow.

2004 6.0 PSD, SCT tunes by Matt at Gearhead
New Heads, ARP studs, OEM headgaskets at 120,000
EGR Delete, New Oil cooler at 113,000
Coolant Filter kit
john3488 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome