fuel gage misreading fuel level - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-17-2007, 06:37 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
fuel gage misreading fuel level

well, here goes...
bought an 04 f350 crew psd with 94,000 miles july 1, 07.
since purchase have had it diagnosed at 2 different ford dealers for issues.
it will run like crap under 1/4 tank of fuel, it gets hard to start, etc. after about 1/8 tank of fuel the truck wil start to shudder and loose power while driving, if you don;t get fuel right then, you better be prepared to walk. i'ts left me walking twice now.
ford dealer number one diagnosed an egr issue and possible injector issue, but wanted 100 bucks to go further to cover the diesel warentee deductible.
ford dealer number 2 said it is low fuel pressure caused by the fuel pickup sucking in air. they said they think my sending unit is reading off by about 1/8 of a tank and they can;t tell me for sure until they drop the tank and they wanted 750 for the parts and labor to replace the sending unit. they said it is not covered under the diesel coverage.
thats just the start of my headaches with this truck...i purchased it from a chevy dealer and so far i have been told that collectivly between the estimates for all repairs from both ford dealers that it needs about 3,250 worth of repairs. the chevy dealer agreed to fix 1,100 worth and said thats all they could find wrong.

anyway has anyone else had issues with a fuel sender being incorrect like mine is?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 09-18-2007, 05:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 210
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i did only when it was cold but it fixed it self it hasnt done it all summer
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 09-18-2007, 06:09 AM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,759
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
Hey Travis where in Michigan are located. Maybe we can meet up drop the tank and take a look at the inside of it. If the sending unit is off. What is the cost of a new one and installing it yourself.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 09-18-2007, 06:19 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,366
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
My gauge was inaccurate needed a sending unit. Ford has a tsb that if you use some chevron techron additive it MAY fix the gauge inaccuracy. It kind of sounds like your tank is pretty dirty. Dropping the tank is easy and so is replacing the sending unit. If you and Bigcountry can get togethor that would probly be your best bet.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 09-18-2007, 06:22 AM
Thats Mr. Oil Leak.....

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Cypress / Houston
Posts: 9,526
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to MrJohnWayne Send a message via MSN to MrJohnWayne Send a message via Yahoo to MrJohnWayne
the sending units are outrageous. I just priced one for my 7.3 yesterday. they want 500 bucks for the whole assembly
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 09-18-2007, 06:28 AM
Cynic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 11,194
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine has been doing this for a year or so now. Before the tank goes below 1/4, I just stop and put fuel in. When I top off, the gauge goes above full. I know the sending unit is causing the problem (either bad, going out, or dirty), but this is a minor problem since I try not to let the tank that low in any truck/car I own.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 09-18-2007, 06:51 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 2,026
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i am on my second Ford truck, both having 2 tanks.

I WILL NOT TRUST THE FORD FUEL GAUGE TO SAVE MY LIFE.

I don't go below a 1/4 or go beyond 200 miles per tank bcuz that gauge is not accurate. i either switch tanks or go fill up. all too often, i fill at 250 - 300 miles bcuz it's sssooo unreliable.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 09-18-2007, 06:58 AM
Cynic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 11,194
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by sldghamr View Post
i am on my second Ford truck, both having 2 tanks.

I WILL NOT TRUST THE FORD FUEL GAUGE TO SAVE MY LIFE.

I don't go below a 1/4 or go beyond 200 miles per tank bcuz that gauge is not accurate. i either switch tanks or go fill up. all too often, i fill at 250 - 300 miles bcuz it's sssooo unreliable.
How large is your tank? At 1/4, I'm usually at 325ish if I am pulling and 375 miles empty.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 09-18-2007, 07:07 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 2,026
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirk0 View Post
How large is your tank? At 1/4, I'm usually at 325ish if I am pulling and 375 miles empty.
i think my total capacity between both tanks is about 35 gallons or whatever that stock amount is for a 96er with a Long bed. i ultimately don't know how much is left cuz i don't know what the size is of each tank.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-29-2007, 08:45 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Hinckley
Posts: 154
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Before i got my 05 i had a 99 psd an my truck was doing that an we had the tank replaced an it still did it but then we took it to another dealer an they replaced a fuse an it worked fine after that. So that could be your problem
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors