Oil Cooler - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-25-2011, 04:11 PM
Premium Member

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Oil Cooler

I did as much research as I could. Is it possible to check your oil cooler without a guage that reads ect and eot for comparison? I have all the mods in my sig but I am just learning about the oil cooler issue. So I am trynig to stay ahead of the issue. What happens when it completely fails? I have read and heard a lot about Elite Diesel's package but 2k is a lot to spend when my truck runs great. Anyway, Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-26-2011, 05:46 AM
Carbon huffing animal

I'm pretty sure it must be done through ECM. There is also updated tuning for the 05 - 07 where the computer will monitor for a 20 difference, and respond accordingly. The lead tech at my shop told me about it, I just don't remember what respond accordingly was. Limp mode or something else, IDK. Nonetheless, I do it through the ECM, and you can do so for $160 with ScanGauge II. ScanGaugeII : Linear Logic - Home of the ScanGauge
Old 07-26-2011, 06:06 AM
information regurgitator

Yep, the easiest way to accomplish monitoring the oil temp and coolant temp is with the electronic monitors that connect to the OBD port.
Scangauge2 can monitor a bunch of stuff that can come in handy with troubleshooting, should you have an issue. Fairly cheap too.