commander fuel pressure problem - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-29-2007, 10:21 AM
back in the saddle

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tipton, Iowa
Posts: 9,469
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
commander fuel pressure problem

Ok, so I got my fuel pressure kit from discount power parts last week. Finally got time this weekend to hook it up. I've got a problem and the directions are not clear on how to proceed, was hoping somebody could help me out... First I updated the commander to the newest 1.4.3 version as the directions said I'd need to do. Next I removed the high pressure test port on the secondary fuel filter and installed the pressure sending unit as directed. I ran the wire from the sending unit and made all necessary hookups under the dash with the secondary harness that was provided with the fuel pressure kit. These were all the instructions provided for the 6.0 fuel kit. I fired it up, checked for leaks and have none, but my fuel pressure is reading 0 pressure on the commander. The secondary harness that came with the kit also has two other lead wires with supplied piggyback connectors that are not mentioned at all in the instructions for the kit. One wire is brown, the other green and I have no idea what they would be used for. I can't find any info on quad's website and they are of course closed for the weekend. I don't have these wires hooked to anything, just wrapped up out of the way under the hood outside the firewall. I tried calling Larry/Pat yesterday and left them a message but haven't heard back yet. If I can't get it resolved today I'll call quadzilla tomorrow during business hours, but was hoping someone on here would have a suggestion for me so I can take care of it today. Any help is appreciated. TIA.

Kurt
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 07-29-2007, 01:39 PM
back in the saddle

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tipton, Iowa
Posts: 9,469
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
bumpity bump!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 07-31-2007, 10:21 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
First thing you need to check (and we need to clarify in the instructions) is to make sure that you have the fiber washer in between the sending unit and the ring terminal. The body of the sending unit is grounded and if the ring terminal touches anything other than the threaded post it will read 0. So that is the first thing to check.

Next, go into the menu then into the hardware settings and select the 0-100psi sensor. If it is set on the 40 psi sensor it may not work.

let me know what you come up with. Worse case scenario call tech support 888-842-6572
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-02-2007, 05:05 AM
back in the saddle

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tipton, Iowa
Posts: 9,469
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks, I'll try that tomorrow. Been too busy all week to mess with it but hopefully its a simple fix. Also I've noticed since I updated to the newest version, my boost is reading 3 or 4 PSI lower than my factory gauge where as it used to be dead even... Also my water temp is showing 72-73* constantly. I'll have to call in tomorrow when I dig in to it. Thanks for the help.
Kurt
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-19-2007, 10:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sivlerdale, WA
Posts: 218
Thanks: 7
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by shu873 View Post
Ok, so I got my fuel pressure kit from discount power parts last week. Finally got time this weekend to hook it up. I've got a problem and the directions are not clear on how to proceed, was hoping somebody could help me out... First I updated the commander to the newest 1.4.3 version as the directions said I'd need to do. Next I removed the high pressure test port on the secondary fuel filter and installed the pressure sending unit as directed. I ran the wire from the sending unit and made all necessary hookups under the dash with the secondary harness that was provided with the fuel pressure kit. These were all the instructions provided for the 6.0 fuel kit. I fired it up, checked for leaks and have none, but my fuel pressure is reading 0 pressure on the commander. The secondary harness that came with the kit also has two other lead wires with supplied piggyback connectors that are not mentioned at all in the instructions for the kit. One wire is brown, the other green and I have no idea what they would be used for. I can't find any info on quad's website and they are of course closed for the weekend. I don't have these wires hooked to anything, just wrapped up out of the way under the hood outside the firewall. I tried calling Larry/Pat yesterday and left them a message but haven't heard back yet. If I can't get it resolved today I'll call quadzilla tomorrow during business hours, but was hoping someone on here would have a suggestion for me so I can take care of it today. Any help is appreciated. TIA.

Kurt

Did you ever figure out what the extra two leads connect to?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-21-2007, 12:25 PM
back in the saddle

 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tipton, Iowa
Posts: 9,469
Thanks: 9
Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
One of them I was told could be tapped in to measure ICP, the other I'm still not sure about. My quad and the fuel pressure sending unit is at quadzilla right now. I sent it in a week ago, but haven't heard anything yet. The tech told me to re-update it again with an even newer version of software, but it didn't help my original problems. Everything was hooked up correctly as far as I can tell. The fuel pressure was still reading 0psi constantly and the water temp was stuck on 73* as well. The boost was a little low too. I'm thinking it was a problem with the software. Even if the fuel unit was bad it shouldn't have affected the coolant temp or the boost reading. That only occured after I did the update. When I hear back from quad I'll post more information. But right now I'm playing the waiting game waiting for their tech to diagnose/fix the problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-21-2007, 02:32 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sivlerdale, WA
Posts: 218
Thanks: 7
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Right on. I'm awaiting a response from QZ so that I can hook up the ICP lead.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors