Wont Start in Cold, shop ripoff - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-23-2010, 11:48 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Wont Start in Cold, shop ripoff

Alright, before you yell at me and say use the search button;I did and it keeps returning general topics.. Anyways, now that its gotten cold here in Maryland my truck wont start unless its plugged in at night. When I tried to start it it cranks, then sputters for about a second then cranks again, Killing the battery fast. But when plugged in it starts right up.. Replace Glow plugs? Took it to a local shop where the truck was worked on before..bad mistake. I already ran diagnostics on it and got the codes. They said it would be 350$$ to run diagnostics on it then they could tell me whats wrong with it.. Oh and they want 650 dollars to do the glowplugs.. any suggestions?? Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-23-2010, 12:34 PM
Slacker



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 17,041
Thanks: 13
Thanked 39 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
What codes did you get? DO NOT replace the glow plugs (or any part) as a preventative measure to try to "fix" your problem. You will only end up frustrated with an empty wallet. Get the diagnostic codes and we can go from there.

BTW, I would start looking for another shop that specializes in the 6.0L Powerstroke engine. Those guys don't sound like they want to fix your truck; they sound like they want to take your money because they haven't got a clue!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-23-2010, 07:23 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
with a bad glow plug(s) you will get a code that actually turns on the check engine light, DO not have them replaced, they very, very rarely fail on 6.0's, It is possible you could have a bad gpcm but also very unlikely, also you're batteries should not wear down that quickly when trying to start, start with making sure they are good, pull codes and go from there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-23-2010, 08:26 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
haha yeah i cant just replace them and hope that fixes the problem, I think because im young they thought they could take advantage of me, they gave me several different price workups on random work they said needed to be done... codes:
p0261(cylinder1)
p0267(cylinder3)
p0270(cylinder4)
p0276(cylinder6)
p0279(cylinder7)
p0282(cylinder8)
p0611(ficm mod)

p0341 and p2614 which they said was just from the extended cranking
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-24-2010, 05:10 AM
Slacker



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 17,041
Thanks: 13
Thanked 39 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
You have a bad FICM. Fix it yourself or send it to Swamps to have it fixed or replaced.

http://www.bscustoms.net/diesel/ficm.pdf
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-24-2010, 10:57 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
that's what I was hoping it wasn't.. Well its 750 then I would get a 350$ core replacement fee so its really not that bad I suppose. I think ill be ordering one soon. Any suggestions on what one? they have a 150$ performance flash also. And how much will it cost to have it put in? Or how hard would it be to do it myself. Thanks for all the help guys! I"m going to school for exercise science not for mechanic school lol so if these are dumb questions, sorry!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-25-2010, 05:46 AM
Slacker



 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Surprise, Arizona
Posts: 17,041
Thanks: 13
Thanked 39 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
You can install it yourself. Since you will have to remove it to send it in, you may as well do the install as well. There are three connectors on the bottom of it that are bit a difficult to remove. There's a clip that is designed to hold each connector in place and that clip is a bit difficult to undo.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors