Blowin smoke stock??? WTF LAG! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-24-2007, 12:39 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Blowin smoke stock??? WTF LAG!

My brother has an 05' with the auto trans. s far as he knows it's all stock... however... If you stand on it off the line it bellows out smoke, makes a nice cloud and then takes off... sure it's fun to do, but is this a problem, has it been chipped, what's goin on. Let me know guys, thanks...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 06-24-2007, 12:41 PM
im fat and ugly


 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 15,687
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah i cant for the life of me make my truck in stock form smoke, i bet ya a beer its chiped or tuned.


welcome aboard
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 06-24-2007, 12:44 PM
Gun Nut




 

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 13,845
Thanks: 7
Thanked 34 Times in 24 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Rodslinger
Welcome to the ORG!
I'm with Stump - mine doesn't blow black smoke stock either.....now tuned - THAT is a different story.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 06-24-2007, 12:59 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: central Il
Posts: 258
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Mine is bone stock right now(no xtra money) and it will blow smoke if you really get on it hard when it gets wound up. It isnt so bad you cant see through it but you can definately see smoke. I have been thinking about asking the dealer about it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 06-24-2007, 12:59 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SOUTH New Jersey (there is a difference)
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I would say it might've been a programmer that didn't get turned off once the truck was sold/bought. I will say for sure my rig wasn't blowing smoke in stock form. But hey, it's a win win IMO. New truck and a free tune! Keep it on the floor and let the smoke roll!!


-nate
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 06-24-2007, 01:04 PM
im fat and ugly


 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 15,687
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
look under the dash and under the hood on the driverside rear corner, to see if you see any boxes
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 06-24-2007, 01:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 794
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
when I hammer on mine it blows out a little smoke when the turbo spools up. I was thinking it was the air cleaner because I smelt the exhaust and it smelled really rich. I took and put a new air cleaner on it and the smell went away but it still blows smoke. I was thinking it had to do with the temp or humidity. If anyone finds out for sure post it please.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 06-24-2007, 01:55 PM
The Fat Mod
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 12,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by stump0331 View Post
yeah i cant for the life of me make my truck in stock form smoke, i bet ya a beer its chiped or tuned.


welcome aboard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rodslinger View Post
Welcome to the ORG!
I'm with Stump - mine doesn't blow black smoke stock either.....now tuned - THAT is a different story.
to the ORG
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 06-24-2007, 01:59 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
well there are a few wires coming in the fire wall that are taped off... and then there is some grey insulated wire looks like it's going up the the a-pillar all on the drivers side....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 06-24-2007, 02:01 PM
The Fat Mod
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 12,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The wires are prolly the ones that are run from the factory. Now the other ones going to the A-pillar, that maybe where some guages had been. I would look into that further.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors