06 F350 VSS Speedometer not working - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
6.0L Problems Forum Having Trouble? Post here

Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-29-2010, 06:18 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
06 F350 VSS Speedometer not working

I recently purchased a used 06 F30 6.0 dually and the speedometer intermittently works it doesn't work most of the time to be honest. I was told when the bought the truck the speed sensor in the rear end was replaced but didn't fix the issue. Is there somewhere else I can look or something else that might be leading to this problem? Because of the speedometer not working I can't use the cruise and I have a heavy foot. Any suggests would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you
A
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-29-2010, 06:33 AM
Unapologetically American


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 19,780
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
My 06 had two combo meters replaced for this issue. I think there is a TSB for this IIRC
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-29-2010, 06:36 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Okay what is the TSB and the IIRC? Also where are the combo meters located? By the Speed sensor? THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-29-2010, 06:40 AM
Unapologetically American


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 19,780
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
The combo meter is the whole guage cluster.

TSB- Technical Service Bulletin
IIRC- If I Remember Correctly
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-29-2010, 06:47 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 12
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Perfect. We already replaced the guage cluster. I will see if I can find any TSB. Thanks again
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-29-2010, 06:55 AM
Unapologetically American


 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Littleton, Colorado
Posts: 19,780
Thanks: 2
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Anytime
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 07-13-2010, 06:28 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: AR
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have the same problem with my 2005. I replaced the transmission with one out of an 06 and the speedo quit working. I have replaced the speed sensor on the top of the transmission with the one out of the 05, didnt help. I replaced the instrument cluster and the sensor on the differential, still the same. I talk to the parts guy at dealership this am and he said it shows 2 sensors on the transmission. One on the tail shaft and one on the top of the transmission. I am ordering both today and let u know if it solves the problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 07-13-2010, 06:41 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,056
Thanks: 111
Thanked 95 Times in 87 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by wag68 View Post
I have the same problem with my 2005. I replaced the transmission with one out of an 06 and the speedo quit working. I have replaced the speed sensor on the top of the transmission with the one out of the 05, didnt help. I replaced the instrument cluster and the sensor on the differential, still the same. I talk to the parts guy at dealership this am and he said it shows 2 sensors on the transmission. One on the tail shaft and one on the top of the transmission. I am ordering both today and let u know if it solves the problem.
Replace the one on your rear axle before you replace the other two.

Also check the ABS fuse
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors