Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Dead will not turn over

2K views 21 replies 6 participants last post by  Beerbait 
#1 ·
Just bought this truck Monday. Drove to NC mins from ATL. No problems till Thurs when it quit. Truck will not turn over. Dash works.

#3 ·
Battery's seem to be fine. All the bells and whistles work. Don't know a good mechanic in the area. The son of a father and son operation stopped to help and let them have the job. If any one knows of a good shop in Franklin NC please holler.

#8 ·
Try jumping the starter then you know if the starters dead or the relay wire is broken somewhere.

#9 ·
Please elaborate. You said it quit on Thursday. Do you mean it just quit cranking or that it quit going down the road?

#10 ·
Quit going down the rd. Sounded as though it ran out of gas. Went to crank it and nothing. All of the dash lights work as well as the radio lights and dingers. Motor will not turn over. I'm new to the diesel world but pritty good with cars and stuff. Never had one quit like this. Point me in the right direction and a swift kick in the a** and I'm on it

Reactions: JER-1
#11 ·
So it stopped running while going down the road and now it won't even turn over? I'm trying to rack my brain thinking about something that would cause both symptoms. About the only thing I can think of might be a hydrolock due to coolant ingestion, but it should still click when attempting to turn over. Even a FICM connector (the FICM to PCM cable) would cause it to stop running but would still allow the engine to turn over.

Also, as far as a monitor goes, you'll want either an Edge Insight CS/CTS/CTS2 or a ScanGage2. Here's a link to the devices and some PID's to monitor. The Edge devices will pull Ford-specific codes, so if your truck has set a code, it should be able to pull them. I have no experience with the ScanGage device.

http://www.powerstroke.org/forum/general-6-0l-discussion/259257-write-up-monitoring-6-0l-psd.html

#15 ·